My Writing Setting

“A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…”

Okay, not that kind of setting! I’m actually talking about when and where I like to write. I usually write in my room, propped up on my bed. I find it much more comfortable for long periods of time than say a desk or the floor. I write on my laptop, since I much prefer to type than write longhand. My handwriting is pretty bad anyway. I also love the fact I can copy and paste, and also, I can type faster than I can write. I listen to music while I write since it helps focus my thoughts. I usually pick one song and just listen to that one over and over. 10:00pm to 12:30am is my time to write since I’m a night owl. (and besides, being a homeschooler, I can sleep in :)) It’s nice and quiet with no distractions. I’m also not tempted to get up and find something else to do, since it’s so late.

If I’m not at home, and I get a great idea, I write on my media player. I downloaded an app called “Writer.” It’s pretty much a basic word processor for your Android device. I love it! I couldn’t ask for much more in a writer app. It is completely free, which makes it even better. 🙂

When I am at home, I have a “writing buddy”. My cat, Precious, has to sit beside me when I write. She jumps up as soon as I grab my computer and settles herself down next to me. She usually gets bored with watching me pretty quickly and goes to sleep!

My writing buddy!

My writing buddy!

Tired of helping, and decided to take a "cat nap!"

Tired of helping, and decided to take a “cat nap”

Leave a Reply

