Writing Sample – Incident at The Green Dragon Inn – Part 2

Welcome to part 2 of my crossover fanfiction! Last Tuesday, I posted “Writing Sample – Incident at The Green Dragon – Part 1.” Well, today I’m posting the second part. In case you didn’t get a chance to read last week’s post, here’s a quick summary. Dr. Watson is sending Mr. J.R.R. Tolkien an untold account of an incident that happened during the case of the Shoscombe Old Place. Now, here’s what’s going to happen next:

“We are friends, of course,” I insisted.

Her anger immediately dissolved, and lowering the frying pan, she cheerfully introduced herself to us. “I’m Rosie Cotton. What can I help you with?”

“We are here to extirpate the fish of the neighborhood,” replied Holmes.

Miss Cotton cocked her head at him. “You’d be wanting some fish to eat?” Without waiting for an answer she inquired, “Where are you from? You certainly are not from around the Shire!”

“Excuse me, miss, but which shire?” I asked, perplexed by her statement.

She gazed at me as if I were mad. “Which Shire, sir? Why, there’s only one Shire, sir, and you’re in it!” She giggled and clasped her hands behind her back, the frying pan still clutched in her tiny grip. “You must be from Bree,” she concluded.

“We are from London,” corrected Holmes.

She raised an eyebrow, “I’ve never heard of London. Is that near Bree?”

“Where is this Bree place, my dear girl?” I questioned.

“It’s east of here,” she said pointing out the door. “Come in, sirs. May I get you something to drink or that fish dinner you said you wanted?”

“Thank you, just drinks, if you please,” Holmes twirled his cane and chose a seat near the window.

“My dear fellow, there is something wrong here!” I cried, glancing down at the feet of the ‘children’ who inhabited the place. They were most unusual, much too big for them and covered with hair. “Have you any theory, Holmes?”

“Indeed, Watson. I once read about a race of Halflings,” Holmes began as Miss Cotton sat two tankards in front of us.

“Anything else, sirs?”

Holmes waved her off and opened his mouth to finish his thought when music started.

Two clear voices piped up and started singing, “You can drink them by the flagon, but the only brew for the brave and true…Comes from the Green Dragon!!”

Holmes and I glanced at each other, and Holmes said, “I quite agree, my dear Watson. Something is very wrong here.”

Stay tuned for the third and final part next Tuesday. Thanks for reading! Kind criticism is welcome. 🙂

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

