Writing Sample – Incident at The Green Dragon Inn – Part 3

Today I’m posting the third and final part of my crossover fanfiction, Incident at The Green Dragon. For a quick recap, Dr. Watson and Sherlock Holmes have walked into the Green Dragon and have found it populated by children, one of whom is named Rosie Cotton. Here’s the conclusion:

Holmes started to stand up, and having forgotten the decreased ceiling height, bumped his head on the rafters. “We are leaving, my dear fellow!” he cried, starting to make his way towards the door, then stopped and turned back to Miss Cotton, who was filling up a tankard. “Excuse me, miss, but a question.”

She sat the foaming mug down on a nearby table and smiled, “Sure. What can I do for you?”

“Do you have a black spaniel, of the Shoscombe breed?”

“No, but we do have a black pig named Clovis. Why?” giggled Miss Cotton.

“It is my business to know what other people do not know, and to ask questions.” Holmes began again for the door, and again stopped. “The links in this chain are almost complete. The final link is you, my dear girl. I have come to the conclusion that you are descended from a race of Halflings, and as the name suggests, a type of dwarf.”

I had no doubt that he was right, but Miss Cotton gave him a look as if he were mad, “A dwarf? I am not a dwarf, but a Hobbit! You’re in Hobbiton after all! You won’t find any dwarves here, though it’s been said that Mr. Baggins had some strange visitors once.”

“I see,” Holmes said, though as one who had known him for so long, I could tell that he did not ‘see.’

We fell silent for a moment, before I inquired, now more eager than ever to leave this strange place that had baffled even Holmes, “And this Bree place is towards the east?”

“Mm-hmm,” she agreed. “Perhaps this London place is towards the west? I’ve never been over there.”

Holmes opened the small door, “Come Watson!” He tipped his hat towards the girl as he stepped out into the sunshine. “Thank you, Miss Cotton!”

“I believe I may have taken a wrong turn, Watson,” he confessed after the door closed behind us, and we walked down the path towards the west.

The End

Dear Dr. Watson,

Thank you for that narrative you sent me. It was most intriguing, and it has helped me immensely as I believe I have finally, at long last, struck upon an idea and setting for my novel. It will start in that place which you have visited called The Shire with a hobbit named Frodo Baggins. I plan to have this Frodo Baggins character go on a great adventure throughout the world in which he lives. When I finish my work, I will send both you and Holmes a copy. I am considering calling the novel, “The Lord of the Rings.”

Yours Sincerely,
J.R.R. Tolkien
Oxford, England

Thank you for reading! I hope you’ve enjoyed all three parts of the Incident at The Green Dragon Inn.

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

