My Top 10 Favorite Classics – Part 2

On Monday, I posted part 1 of this list, my Top 10 Favorite Classics. Today, it’s time to finish up! I realized I made a mistake on Monday and actually posted the first six of my list. 😛 So, here are the last four of my favorite classics:

4. A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain
“You can’t throw too much style into a miracle.”
When I listened to this classic for the first time, I had just finished studying King Arthur and his knights so the legends were still fresh in my mind. That fact made this book even funnier. Both Mark Twain’s version of Camelot and the main character, Hank Morgan, the Yankee from the 19th century trying to “modernize” the 6th, kept me laughing from page 1 to page 575.

3.A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
“And it was always said of him, that he knew how to keep Christmas well, if any man alive possessed the knowledge.”
This was the first Dickens novel that I’d read, and I’m very glad I read it! As Ebenezer Scrooge traveled back and forth through time with the three ghosts, I felt as if I was experiencing the same trip that he was. After reading the book, I watched several movie versions, and my personal favorite was the one where “Captain Picard” (Patrick Stewart) played Ebenezer Scrooge.

2. The Lord of the Flies by William Golding
“Maybe there is a beast… maybe it’s only us.”
At first, the book sounded like any other survival tale, but as the book progressed I started to see that The Lord of the Flies was much more than that. I enjoyed this book so much. It was delightfully creepy and held me on the edge of my seat with a kind of sickening fascination, as Golding began to reveal just what and who the beast really was.

1. The Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare
“All that glisters is not gold; Often have you heard that told.”
After first listening to Macbeth, I was hooked on Shakespeare’s work. Last year for school we studied two more plays by the Bard, Romeo and Juliet and The Merchant of Venice, which became my favorite play by Shakespeare (so far) and my favorite work of literature. I loved so much about this play. Shylock made such a good, complex villain, not just a one sided “baddy” like so many others. Portia and Nerissa made incredible heroines who were smart, witty, and very funny. In fact, I loved the play so much, I named my The Hobbit OC (fan created, other character)and her sister after the two main heroines. Someone even created a manga for the play, which I read and reread and reread again. 🙂

At this moment in time, these are my favorites, though with all the books my mom has planned for this school year, I’m sure that I’ll be rewriting this list with new favorites soon enough!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

