Writing Sample – Hot Air Balloon – Part 2

Welcome to part 2 of my Owl City fanfiction, “Hot Air Balloon.” In case you missed last week’s post, I introduced my two newest characters, Arden and Ben. Enjoy part 2!

“No,” I said firmly. “How could I imagine something I’ve never seen?”

She ignored the last question and said dreamily, “Yeah, me either. Hang on!” She jumped up and with sparkling eyes loudly announced, “I need to buy a parachute!”

I opened my mouth to say something then shut it again. When I finally regained my composure, I managed to ask, “A parachute?”

“I want to know exactly how it feels!” She stopped and licked her lips. “I’m thirsty.” Arden danced into the kitchen, and I heard the refrigerator open and the rattling of containers. Then I heard a sickening crack and then a yelp.

“Are you okay?” I called, hurriedly getting up and dashing across the room to check on her. Images of Arden knocked out on the floor in a pool of blood flashed through my mind. I really hated the sight of blood.

“Oh, yeah I’m fine. It was just my head,” a voice echoed cheerily from the refrigerator. “The church is having a rummage sale. I bet we could get a parachute from there!” She emerged and poured a glass of lemonade for herself. “Want some?”

I nodded, adrenaline still pumping and trying to catch up from buying a parachute and the head injury.

“I wonder if we’ll find one,” she mused as she grabbed another glass and started pouring.

“Find what?” I asked, not realizing we were back to the topic of the parachute.

“A parachute! Maybe a famous parachutist went to the church and gave his beloved parachute …”

“Arden,” I warned, watching the lemonade rise higher and higher.

“to the church rummage sale …”

“Arden!” I watched in dismay as the lemonade trickled over the sides of the glass.

“What?” she said, jerked out of her day dream, and suddenly felt the lemonade pouring over her hand. She stopped and grinned sheepishly. “Oops!” Arden grabbed paper towels and licked the sticky stuff off her hand and cleaned the floor, still talking about a parachutist and a parachute. I concentrated on sipping the lemonade from the top of my glass, attempting to keep it from spilling and making more of a mess.

My hand was suddenly grabbed, and I was dragged out of the kitchen, out the front door, and down the street towards the church rummage sale, leaving behind more spilled lemonade.

When we got there, Arden lost no time. She marched right up to Mrs. Walker, who was running the sale. “Do you have any parachutes?”

She gazed at the half-crazy girl and smiled, “Actually, we do. It’s right over there.”

Arden dashed off, barely saying thank you. I jogged after her unable to believe we had located a real parachute. Finding it on the indicated table, Arden snatched it up and rubbed her cheek against it. “It’s like canvas!” she cried, the revelation spreading over her face. Her eyes brightened. “You know what? I bet I could use this.” She examined the price tag, and felt in her pocket, pulling out a crumpled $5 bill. She shoved the money into Mrs. Walker’s hand and grabbed my hand, “Come on!”

For the second time today, I was towed along as Arden ran all the way home, dragging the bulk of fabric in the other hand and tripping several times over the hole at the bottom of the parachute.

Jogging up the stairs to her house, she yanked the door open, threw the parachute on the couch, and ripped off her jean jacket.

“I can’t use it with a hole!” she complained. “Wait! I can use Mom’s sewing stuff!”

Stay tuned for part 3!

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Writing Sample – Hot Air Balloon – Part 2

  1. I love this. It has such a spur-of-the-moment, energized-and-hyper feel. Arden’s character is quite amusing, as different as it is from mine. 😉 Her name fits perfectly.

  2. Glad you’re enjoying it! Arden’s been a really fun character to write. I keep a list of names on my mp3 player, and when I thought up the character, the first name on the list, Arden, seemed like the perfect one. I’m really happy it turned out! 🙂

    ~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

