Author Spotlight – Chautona Havig

Today, I’d like to introduce you to one of my favorite authors, Chautona Havig. She is a prolific Christian author who has written some of my favorite book series such as Aggie’s Inheritance, The Annals of Wynnewood, and The Not-So-Fairytales.

Ms. Havig is especially good at creating memorable, authentic characters that’d you’d love to meet in real life. She has written every genre of book, from romance to mystery to fantasy, and all of them are very clean and written from a Christian perspective, which is something I really enjoy, being a Christian myself. She does an excellent job at tackling Christian issues without sounding preachy. From a writer’s marketing perspective, one of the most interesting things Ms. Havig has done is release one of her series as a serial novel. In case you haven’t heard of this, it is a regular novel that is published for Kindle or any eReader a few chapters at a time, every week. She also offers weekly promotions and free books through her weekly newsletter.

According to her website, she has “over a hundred books in progress– some of them finished.” While I haven’t read all of her books, whether finished or not, I’ve read a number of them, and I thought I’d share my favorites!

Aggie’s Inheritance Series is the story of a young lady named Aggie who takes in her eight nieces and nephews after the death of her sister and brother-in-law. Aggie has no experience taking care of a household or children, so she is forced to learn on the job as she handles catastrophe after catastrophe. I really enjoyed this book! The series was fantastic and Aggie was such a lovable character. Being a homeschooler, I enjoyed seeing Aggie learning how to homeschool her charges.

The Annals of Wynnewood is a fantasy series set in a fictional town in medieval England. The story really drew me in. Actually, I was drawn into the book so much that I spent 2 1/2 hours reading the final two books to find out what the cloaked creature, nicknamed Dove, really was! I wasn’t disappointed, and though I had a slight inkling of what she was, I was still pretty surprised when it was finally revealed.

The Not-So-Fairytales are not your average fairytales. So far, I’ve only read Princess Paisley (the first book in the series), and it was fantastic! I literally laughed out loud as the-not-so-typical-fairy-tale Princess Paisley tried to pick her future husband from all the suitors at her majority balls. The entire book was incredibly clever, and I’m sure the second book will be just as good!

Chautona Havig blogs over at You can sign up for her weekly newsletters where she announces new books, giveaways, and weekly promotions. You can find her books on Amazon for Kindle and also in paperback formats.

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s