Weekly Writing Wrap-Up: August 23 – 29

Announcement time! I’m starting a new weekly feature. Every Friday, I’ll be posting a summary of what I have accomplished in my writing that week. The categories reflect the work I’ve done for the previous 7 days, from Friday through Thursday. So, today’s post includes my writing from Friday, August 23 to Thursday, August 29. All right, let’s get started!

Total Word Count for the Week: 6140

Top Writing Day: Wednesday, my top day at 1616 words, was a big surprise since I thought I’d written less than I actually had.

What I Worked On: I worked on a few fanfictions earlier this week, and for the rest of the week, I was fleshing out a few new novel ideas.

The Good News: The fact that I was posting my word count today really pushed me to write more and kept me from getting distracted. As a result, I wrote more than I usually do.

The Bad News: Tuesday, I got stuck because I was trying to write the “perfect novel.”

Lesson Learned: I need to remember to focus on just writing instead of “writing eloquently” or worrying about what future readers are going to say about my work. Of course, I want people to love it and my novel to become a best seller, but right now it’s most important that I just write.

Goal for Next Week: My big goal is to participate in the teen version of NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month this November. With the teen version, you get to pick your final word goal. I would like my daily word count to be around 1600, which is the daily regular NaNo word count. So, my goal for this week is to start training for this by keeping each day’s word count above 1,000.

I’d like to turn this into a weekly linky party, but I’m still not entirely sure how to do that. Hopefully I’ll have it figured out soon! If you’d like to share your word count with me, comment below, and let me know what it was.

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

