5 More Tips on Curing Writer’s Block

Two weeks ago, I posted “5 Tips on Curing Writer’s Block.” After I posted that (and became stuck myself once or twice), I thought up a few additional ways that might be helpful in curing this dreaded writer’s disease. So, here are 5 more tips to help keep that writer’s block at bay:

1. Do you want to talk about it?
Most of my writing time is spent alone (with the exception of my writing buddy =^.^=), in my room with music, and my current WIP. Writers spend a lot of their time alone. One way to beat writer’s block is to talk about the scene you’re stuck on with someone else. Perhaps that person has an idea that could solve your problem, or maybe just talking about it will remove that block.

2. It’s November 1st!
Only two more months! Since the time I first heard about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), it’s been my dream to participate. For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is the ultimate writing challenge where you write a full length novel (50,000 words) in one month. And this year, I’m actually going to be able to participate. A few local libraries are hosting NaNo workshops, and I’m absolutely thrilled. I simply cannot wait for November 1st! What does this have to do with writer’s block? Well, I think that NaNo will be a great way to bust writer’s block. If you work best under pressure, you’ll have all the pressure you need to keep you motivated. Also, if you need a challenge to help you keep moving, then this is the challenge for you. If you’re suffering from writer’s block and it’s November, then try NaNo!

3. GOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAALLLLLL!
Giving yourself a little pressure, like NaNoWriMo, can go a long way when dealing with writer’s block. You don’t have to join NaNo, though, to set yourself a goal. Try a couple hundred words a day, and you might find that writer’s block tends to creep away. After all, you can’t afford to have writer’s block if you have to write 300 more words that day. I’ve been trying to keep my word count above 1,000 every day, and while I haven’t been totally successful, it’s certainly kept me less distracted, more focused, and, best of all, leaves me with no time for writer’s block.

4. Don’t worry…keep writing!
This is a huge cause of writer’s block for me. I think up an idea and tear it down because it doesn’t fit the “bestseller” book that I want. Or I’ll write a chapter and compare it unfavorably to someone else’s work. One way to beat this is to bring yourself back down to reality. Remind yourself that there is a slim chance that this book is going to be the next hottest book or series. And that it’s okay if it isn’t the next huge sensation. It’s fine to dream about writing a best seller; just don’t impress those standards on the book you’re working on, especially if you’re only on draft one. It will never live up to those expectations, and you’ll end up becoming frustrated because you can’t think of an idea that is perfect enough.

5. “Hi Ho Hi Ho. It’s off to work we go!”
Sometimes it’s better not to try to actually cure your writer’s block, but just to push through it. It’s not always easy to do this, but it’s sometimes the best option. If you spend all the time you’d usually use writing on trying to cure your writer’s block, then you’ll never get anything done. Also, you might be telling yourself that you have writer’s block, because you’re not in the mood to write or don’t feel like working on whatever your working on. In those cases, it might just be best to write through the writer’s block and continue working.

That’s five more tips to cure that writer’s block you have. Now, you should have none! 🙂 So, what are you waiting for? Start writing!

~ Kayla

One thought on “5 More Tips on Curing Writer’s Block

  1. Pingback: Another Bright Idea | The Write Stuff

Leave a Reply

