Character Interview – Arden

A few months ago, I took the interviewer’s seat and interviewed my character, Lexi, from The Last Four. I had such a great time getting to interview her, I decided to do it again with another one of my characters. (The Hobbit stars still haven’t gotten back to me about an interview. I wonder why … ;)) Today I’m interviewing Arden from my Owl City fanfiction, Hot Air Balloon!

What is your name?

My name’s Arden Bellatrix Hart. Isn’t that a great name? My father likes to call me Bella, but everyone else just calls me Arden.

Bellatrix? Is that your real middle name?

Yep! It’s the name of a star in the Orion constellation. My mom’s an astrophysicist. Her favorite star is the Bellatrix star because of its blue color. So, she named me after it.

What do you want to be when you grow up? An astrophysicist like your mom?

I’m not as into the universe as my mother is. I’d rather be a chef, fashion designer, or dentist. Or maybe an animal trainer. I’d love to be a singer, but I can’t sing. Or maybe I can work in Ben’s parents’ candy store, Sweet Stuff. Mmmm … that would be yummy.

Where are you from?

I’m from the third planet in the Alpha Centauri system.

Are you really?

Naw! My friend Ben seems to think I’m from outer space though. I’m actually from a teeny tiny town in Minnesota. It gets sooooo cold in the winter!

How old are you?

I’m 14 years old. My birthday is in July, and I love that it’s actually nice and warm! I like the warm weather because you can go outside and do stuff, like ride in hot air balloons.

Do you have any siblings?

Nope! It’s just me, myself, and I. Which is neat because I’m fun to talk to.

Who are your parents?

Andra and Daniel Hart. If Ben and I got married, and he took my last name, he’d be Ben Sweet-Hart. Hehe! Anyway, my mom is originally from Iceland, and my dad was born and raised in Minnesota. I already told you she’s an astrophysicist, and my dad’s an ornithologist who’s researching the Rose-Breasted Grosbeak. Did you know that the Grosbeak’s nest is so flimsy you can actually see the eggs through the bottom of the nest?

No, I didn’t. Interesting. Do you go to school?

Uh-huh. I’m in high school now.

What is your favorite subject in school?

I really like my art class. I also got a chance to perform in a play when my school did a production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I played the fairy, Moth. I had two whole lines! Everyone said that I was the best Moth they’d ever seen.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I like to draw, listen to music, pretend, dance, build race tracks, play video games, bake, read, sew  … there’s not much I don’t enjoy doing, actually!

Do you have any pets?

My dad’s allergic to dogs, so we have a cat named Kalliope.

Who named the cat?

My mom did. It’s the name of an asteroid.

Do you have a best friend?

He might not agree, but I consider Ben to be my best friend. He lives right next door, so I get to see him all the time. Whenever he comes over, we have a blast!

What are your favorite books?

My favorite books are The Phantom Tollbooth and The Hobbit. I would love to have a chance to travel to Dictionopolis and Erebor.

What is your favorite food?

Easy! My mom is from Iceland, and she makes Bláberjasúpa, which in English is blueberry soup.

Blueberry soup?

Yeah! It’s delicious. My mom said in Iceland it’s made with something called bilberries, which kind of sounds like “Bilbo – berries!” Hehe! Over here in the US, it’s easier to get blueberries than bilberries.

You said you like to listen to music. What kind of music do you like?

Yes! I love listening to music. I especially enjoy Owl City. Some of the songs sound like they were written about my life. It’s the weirdest thing.

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

