Character Interview – Ben

Last Monday, I posted an interview with my Owl City fanfiction character, Arden. Well, I couldn’t interview Arden without talking to Ben! So, here is Ben’s interview.

What is your name? Any nicknames?

My name is Benjamin Thomas Sweet. Most people call me Ben, though.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

One day, my brother and I will take over our parents’ candy store, Sweet Stuff. If that doesn’t work out for some reason, I’d consider being a computer programmer, or if I ever get good enough, a professional hockey player.

Where are you from?

My family is originally from Arizona. We moved to a small town in Minnesota when I was a baby so I don’t really remember living there.

How old are you?

I turned 14 in September.

Do you have any siblings?

Yes, I do. I have an older brother, named Trevor. He’s not the nicest brother. He’s 3 years older than me and loves to play practical jokes. We’ve had a long standing war going on; however, lately we’ve come to a shaky truce.

Who are your parents?

Lori and Thomas Sweet. My middle name is from my father. My family owns a candy store called Sweet Stuff. We sell all kinds of candy and also make some of our own right in the store. My family has always been in the candy business. Actually, that might be where our family got our last name of Sweet, but no one’s certain.

So, if I came to your shop, what candy would you recommend?

I love our Wonderfills. They are delicious! They’re chocolate covered Oreos.

They do sound good! Do you go to school?

Yes, I do. I attend the same high school as Arden. We’re actually in English and Biology together.

What is your favorite subject in school?

History and math. I do pretty well in history since I’ve done a lot of reading on my own, and I’ve always been good at math.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I help out at Sweet Stuff after school a lot of times. I really like history, partially because my great-great-great-great-great-great-great grandfather fought for George Washington in the Revolutionary War. I can spend hours reading about the battles and learning about my family history. When I was younger, I watched Liberty’s Kids over and over until I had it memorized. I practice ice hockey a lot (I play for my school), and I like to watch Star Trek.

Do you have a best friend?

My best friend is a guy from my hockey team, Hunter. Oh, and Arden’s a good friend, too. I don’t know if I consider her my best friend, but she’s pretty cool. We do lots of stuff together.

Do you have any pets?

My family has a collie named Roxy. She’s 2 years old.  I also own a pair of angelfish. When Arden came over to see them, she said they had to have names, so I named the one Spock. Arden named the other Sophronia. Yeah, I know, strange name, but I told her she could name it.

What is your favorite book?

The Robot Wars by Sigmund Brouwer. I enjoy Sci-fi, so I really liked them.

What is your favorite food?

My favorite food is pizza. With pepperoni, of course.

Do you like to listen to music?

Yeah. Arden got me into listening to Owl City. I can see why she likes him. It’s like the songs are written about some of the stuff we’ve done together.

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

