Monthly Link Share – How Not to Start

Today I’m sharing a couple of links I recently “dug up” in my internet favorites that have been helpful and interesting to me. Hopefully they will be to you as well!

This is an article about “13 Ways Not to Start a Novel.” I’m guilty of 7 and 12!

http://annerallen.blogspot.com/2011/09/13-ways-not-to-start-novel.html?m=1

If you’re a dystopian writer or are just interested in the genre, then this is a great article to read! It’s a humorous list of how to write a clichéd dystopian book. While very funny, it’s also useful to keep your dystopian story cliché free.

http://the-book-eater.blogspot.com/2012/04/dystopia-101-how-to-write-book-that.html?m=1

This is an article about different types of writer’s block and how to solve them. I really enjoyed this article and found it very useful. I suffered from Novice Nerves. I think I’m over it now, but sometimes it comes sneaking back!

http://www.elizabethmoon.com/writing-block.html

Warning: The following video really has nothing to do with writing (other than the fact that he is a published author). It has everything to do with drawing. When I’m not writing, I enjoy drawing quite a bit. I especially enjoy drawing manga, and I’ve found Mark Crilley to be incredibly helpful. He has a youtube channel and every Friday posts a video, usually a how to draw video. They’re step by step and narrated (Mr. Crilley is very funny and entertaining!), making it easy to follow along and draw with him. He usually does how to draw manga videos, but he’s also done a few animal and realistic videos as well. Here’s one of his time lapse videos:

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

