Character Names – Thane and Ailey

During the past few days, I’ve started to feel the pressure of planning out my upcoming NaNo novel before November is here. One of the things I still had yet to do was name my characters. I did finally end up finding all of them names, but I feel as if I’ve been living on baby name sites for the last couple of days. Anyway, during my rather frantic name search, I’ve dug up a few names that didn’t work for this novel, but might work for yours. As always, feel free to use these names in your writing, but there’s no guarantee that I won’t use them myself in another novel. 🙂

Thane is a Scottish boy’s name. Its first known use was in Shakespeare’s play Macbeth, as Thane is actually an early Scottish title. Macbeth was originally “Thane of Glamis” and then became “Thane of Cawdor.”  According to Nameberry (http://nameberry.com/babyname/Thane), Thane means “clan chieftain.” I like this name quite a bit, and my main guy character in my NaNo novel was almost named this. I decided another name was a better fit for him, though. I wouldn’t use Thane in a historical fiction novel since Thane is also a title in early Scotland, but I do think it would be great for most other genres, though.

Ailey is an Irish girl’s name. It is pronounced “Eye-lee.” The name means “light.” I couldn’t find a ton of information on this name, unfortunately. If you’re looking for a not-so-popular character name, Ailey is definitely not used a lot. Ailey was a name I considered for my main girl character. I decided that it might have been a little too difficult for the reader to know how to pronounce it (and the name just didn’t fit my character), and ease of pronunciation is definitely something to consider in naming characters. I think Ailey would be perfect in a contemporary novel or fantasy one.

I hope that these two names are useful for naming your two newest characters!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

