New Year’s Writing Resolutions

It’s two weeks into 2014, and I haven’t posted my New Year’s Resolutions yet! I’m only a teeny bit late. 🙂 I decided it is better late than never so today I’m sharing some of the goals I’m setting for myself for the new year. Stick around to the end, because I have a blog related announcement to make.

1. Edit Homeland

For those who don’t know, Homeland is the 40,000 word novel I completed in Young Writer’s NaNoWriMo this year. I’ve been setting it aside for a while, detaching myself from what I had written, and also deciding if I wanted to pursue editing. Well, I’ve made up my mind, and I am going to edit and complete this project. This will be the first major novel edit I’ve done, so I’m excited and nervous and dreading it all at the same time! 🙂 I’m planning to edit in stages and have mapped out smaller goals so I can complete the larger goal of finishing it by the end of this summer.

2. Participate in Camp NaNoWriMo and NaNoWriMo 2014

I had a blast in Young Writer’s NaNo this year, and I cannot wait to do it again! So, my goal is to participate in both Camp NaNo in the summer (That is, if they have it. I’m still not entirely sure if they are this year.) and regular NaNo in November. Last year, I did the teen version, and this year I’m planning on doing the adult version. I’m already flipping through my novel idea notebook and deciding which ideas to go with!

3. Finish current novels

I have two unfinished rough drafts of nameless novels right now.  I’ve been switching back and forth between them, working on one and then the other, but never finishing either. My goal is to finish them both this year. Easier said than done, I know! Since I’m planning on doing Camp NaNoWriMo, I’d like to have one of the two finished by then, and then complete the other one after Camp NaNo but before November’s NaNo. Plans sometimes change, so I don’t know if it will exactly work like that. My goal stays the same though: I want to finish these two novels! 🙂

4. Read more

Over and over the most common piece of writing advice I come across is to read, read, and read some more. This past year I didn’t read as much as I usually do, and I want to get back on the reading track especially since it will help me become a better writer. My goal is to read at least four books a month, and I plan to share some of what I am reading on the blog.

5. Write more

Recently, I haven’t been writing as much as I’d like to. My word count has been down, and my rough drafts desperately need to be worked on. I miss having the time to write some “fun” things as well as my novels. Which brings me to my announcement. Since my goal is to spend more time writing this year, I’ve decided to change some things on my blog. I won’t be posting writing samples every week like I have been, and I’ll be switching up my posting schedule a little bit. I’m hoping that this new schedule will allow me to spend more time writing. So, expect some changes for the next month or so until I decide what the ultimate schedule will be.

Thanks to all my followers who read and comment for making the first few months of my blog great! I’ll hope you’ll stick around for 2014. 🙂

Do you have any New Year’s resolutions as a writer? Feel free to share in the comments.

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

