What I’ve Read This Month

One of my resolutions for 2014 is to read more, and I’ve set myself the goal of four books a month. I’m trying to read different genres, fiction and non-fiction, and even from different age groups. Well, I did indeed read four books (actually five!) in January and today, I thought I’d go ahead and share them. Let’s get started!

Books I Read This Month:

The Green Book by Jill Paton Walsh

This is a short book, meant for a younger audience, but I was curious about it because of the sci-fi story line. It’s a story of one of the last families to leave Earth because of the dying sun. Each of the children can only bring one book, and one of them brings a green book, hence the title. They land on this planet, which they call Shine, and learn to survive on it. I found the moth people, the strange wheat, and the shiny grass, a bit odd. Even with some of the strangeness of Shine, the book wasn’t horrible. I just wasn’t thrilled with it.

Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell

This is another younger book I chose mainly because it’s a classic, and I’ve never read it. Karana is from an Indian tribe that lives on an island. When the tribe is forced to leave, her little brother jumps off the ship, and she follows after him. Now that they are stranded on the island, Karana is forced to learn how to survive. I enjoyed this one. It was definitely interesting reading how she survived, fought off the wild dogs, and built a home for herself.

Animal Farm by George Orwell

In England, a group of animals, unhappy with their treatment on a farm, rise up against their owner, take over the farm, and start running it themselves. Animal Farm is a classic novel I read for school. I was pleasantly surprised about how much I enjoyed it! Orwell’s satire on Russia is so brilliant.

Indian Captive by Lois Lenski

I wrote a review on this book last week. If you’d like to read it, you can find it here: https://concerningwriting.wordpress.com/2014/01/21/book-review-indian-captive-by-lois-lenski/

War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells

I read this one for school. It’s the story of humanity’s war against the Martians who come falling from the sky in cylinders to take over the Earth. The book was certainly entertaining, but the one thing I disliked was the fact that you learned almost nothing about the narrator. It was hard to grow attached to him, and I found myself not really caring about what happened to him. Still, the story was pretty exciting, and it was interesting to see how Wells created such non-human like aliens.

So, those are the books I’ve read this month! Have you read any of these books? What have you been reading? Do you have any book recommendations? Comment below and let me know!

~ Kayla

3 thoughts on “What I’ve Read This Month

  1. I had to read Animal Farm when I was at school, and I LOVED it! Orwell was a exceptionally genius man. I really should read more often… It’s pretty bad. I can just never find the time to sit down and do it. Ugh, life.

    • I read part of 1984, and I hated it. After 1984, I was pretty convinced that I would hate everything that Orwell wrote, so I was really dreading Animal Farm. Luckily, I was pleasantly surprised!

      • Oh, really? Well, it’s good you managed to see past your expectations 🙂 Maybe I should give another Austen novel a try 😉 (I laugh at the thought). I’ve never read 1984, but I’d love to one day.

Leave a Reply

