Author Profile – Ted Dekker

This month, I read Green by Ted Dekker, and I adored it! Since I enjoyed Green so much, I was curious to learn a bit more about its author.

It turns out that Ted Dekker has led a pretty interesting life. He was born on October 24, 1962 in Indonesia to missionary parents. He and his family lived in the jungle where his parents ministered to a tribe of cannibals. He was sent to a coastal boarding school when he was six which meant living apart from his parents for months at a time. Being lonely for much of his childhood, he created an imaginary world to live in. He left Indonesia before graduating high school, and lived in the United States where he studied philosophy and religion, earning a Bachelor’s Degree. For the next few years, he did a variety of jobs such as buying and selling businesses, marketing, and healthcare services. When a friend of his wrote a novel, Mr. Dekker decided to pursue his dream of becoming a novelist. He wrote two novels in the next two years and decided that he wanted to become a full-time novelist. He sold his business, moved to Colorado, and starting writing full time. Two years later in 2000, Heaven’s Wager, his first novel, was published. Now Mr. Dekker is a NY Times bestselling author of well-known books such as BoneMan’s Daughters, House, and Thr3e.

His writing day starts at 7:00 A.M., when he edits the previous day’s work for an hour, and then goes on to write 3000 words until 6:00 P.M. Mr. Dekker likes to listen to loud, atmospheric, and emotional music while he writes. In a Goodreads interview, he mentions that he was currently listening to the Tron soundtrack. He says that music helps him “shut out the world.” Mr. Dekker writes with a Mac computer and in case you were wondering what the lunch of a best-selling author is, Mr. Dekker says in a interview with the Examiner that he typically eats peanuts. At 6:00 P.M., he stops writing, and spends the evening with his family. While in the middle of writing one of his novels, Mr. Dekker goes to a resort for two to three weeks and locks himself in a hotel room where he says, “I’ll write 4,000 or 5,000 words a day. All I do is write.”

I loved this quote I read where he told how he became an author:

“I studied philosophy, religious studies, and English. My training was writing four full-length novels and hiring an editor to tear them apart. I had enough money to do that, and then rewriting and rewriting and rewriting. And then sending them off, sending them off, sending them off through a agent until finally I had something like four offers from four different publishers in the same month.”

Mr. Dekker’s website is here:

http://teddekker.com/

You can find the two interviews I referenced here:

http://www.goodreads.com/interviews/show/579.Ted_Dekker

http://www.examiner.com/article/interview-with-ted-dekker-author-of-the-bride-collector-absolutely-best-beach-read

I can’t wait to read the next book in The Circle Series and read some of his other works, too!

What do you think of Ted Dekker’s books? Have you read any by him?

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Author Profile – Ted Dekker

  1. A girl after my own heart!! When I saw Ted Dekker’s name in the title of this post, a million thoughts raced through my head and I had to force myself to stay calm. I’m in LOVE with his books. (And if you’ll read my about page, you will see my life goal is to own everything he’s ever written) I could go on and on and on about how absolutely amazing his books are. I have not yet found one I couldn’t put down. If you liked Green, I highly recommend reading The Circle Trilogy (Black, Red, White). Showdown, Skin, and Boneman’s Daughters are slightly gory at parts. The Priests Graveyard was probably one of my favorites. And Eyes Wide Open (4 short stories) was a good one as well. And I should probably stop now before I get too overly excited. 😉 highly recommend him to anyone!!

    • I just got Black out at my local library and starting reading it last night. I’m only on chapter two, but already my family has had to put up with me shouting at Thomas out loud to avoid drinking the water and redheaded men named Bill/Billy. 🙂

      I can’t wait to try his other books! After I read The Circle Trilogy, I’m considering putting Elyon and Lunatic on my reading list. After all, one can never have too much Circle Trilogy/Ted Dekker. 😉

Leave a Reply

