Weekly Writing Wrap-Up: February 7 – 13

Welcome to my Weekly Writing Wrap-Up for this week!

Total Word Count for the Week: 8093

Top Writing Day: Wednesday was my top writing day with 1,327 words.

What I Worked On: I worked on my Snow/Finley novel and a little bit of fanfiction.

The Good News: I met and exceeded my goal this week! Yeah!

The Bad News: I’ve been so single minded in writing my Snow/Finley novel that I haven’t gotten any of my other writing projects done such as Hobbit fanfiction for the Desolation of Smaug.

Lesson Learned: When I wrote Homeland, I wrote a huge outline to go along with it, and never really used the detailed plot points I wrote. The outline was comforting to have, knowing I had to write a novel in a month, but not as useful as I had hoped. With Snow, I jumped into it thinking I’d never go far with the novel, and so I didn’t write an outline for it at all.  Surprisingly, I’m doing okay without the super-detailed outline I did for Homeland, and I love the freedom of making it up as I go along! So, my “lesson learned” is that next time I start a novel, I’m just jumping into it, and only outlining later if needed!

Goal for Next Week: My goal for next week is 800 words. 🙂

If you’d like to share your weekly wrap-up, go ahead and post it in the comments below!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

