What I’ve Read This Month

Today I’m posting a list of the books I’ve read this month. I’ve made it a goal to read at least four books monthly to reach my bigger goal of reading more this year. I made and exceeded my goal this month by reading six books.

The books I've read this month

The books I’ve read this month

Green by Ted Dekker

Green is both the first and last book in the four book Circle series. How does that work? Well, you can read them in this order: Green, Black, Red, White or read them in this order: Black, Red, White, Green. Any way you read them, they are terrific. Green was an absolutely fantastic story, and, truthfully, I can’t think of anything I didn’t like about it. The characters were incredibly well-done, likeable, and made great heroes to cheer for and villains to hate.

Black by Ted Dekker

Black is the official first book of the Circle Trilogy (Green is considered book 0). In this book, we meet Thomas Hunter and learn that he has the ability to travel between two worlds through his dreams. Just like Green, this book was absolutely fantastic!

The Glorious Adventures of the Sunshine Queen by Geraldine McCaughrean

This is the unique story of a group of children, Cissy, Kookie, and Tibbie, with their school teacher, Miss May March, who must leave their town for fear of diphtheria. They travel with an acting company aboard a steamship called the Sunshine Queen. This is a strange, entertaining, wonderful book that I picked up randomly off the shelf at my library, and I’m sure glad I did! The characters are wacky and lovable, and the plot is unbelievable in the best kind of crazy way. I actually laughed out loud while reading this one, and it’s a definite favorite!

Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer by John Grisham

Theodore Boone is the son of two great lawyers, and dreams of becoming a lawyer himself one day. Theodore has a chance to help out in a murder trial when he becomes the only person who knows of a secret witness that would prove the right man guilty. Unfortunately, the witness doesn’t want to tell his story, and it’s up to Theodore to figure out what to do so that justice can prevail. The book is for a slightly younger audience, but it didn’t stop me from enjoying it! The mystery was great, and I sped through the book really quickly. I especially liked the fact that Theodore actually worked together with his parents instead of disobeying them. Definitely a good book and well-worth the read!

Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift

Gulliver’s Travels is the classic novel about a man named Lemuel Gulliver who travels to distant, unknown lands populated with strange inhabitants like men only six inches high, horses who are rational, giants, and people who live on floating islands. We read this one for school. I must say, this is one classic that is not going on my list of favorites. I finished it today, and I was glad to be done reading it.

Sherlock Holmes and the Baker Street Irregulars: The Fall of the Amazing Zalindas by Tracy Mack and Michael Citrin

I wrote a book review on this book last week. If you’d like to read it, you can find it here: https://concerningwriting.wordpress.com/2014/02/18/book-review-sherlock-holmes-and-the-baker-street-irregulars-the-fall-of-the-amazing-zalindas/

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

3 thoughts on “What I’ve Read This Month

  1. It has been many years since I read the Circle Trilogy. Once I get done with the mass of books I have checked out from the library, I think I might dive back into the Circle. Currently I’m reading “The Sanctuary” By Dekker and it’s great!! 🙂 It’s the sequel to The Priest’s Graveyard. Another amazing book!

Leave a Reply

