Weekly Writing Wrap-Up: February 21 – 27

Welcome to my Weekly Writing Wrap-Up for this week!

Total Word Count for the Week: 7827

Top Writing Day: My top writing day was Thursday with 1,511 words.

What I Worked On: I worked on my Snow novel.

The Good News: I made my goal this week! Also, I believe I should be finished Snow in 4-5 more days. I’m so excited, and yet not sure that I’m quite ready to let her go. 🙂

The Bad News: Alas, the trials of becoming too emotionally attached to your characters. I had to write the scene where Snow finds out she’s going to die, and wow, that was a hard one to write. When I was writing the scene, I just kept apologizing, “I’m sorry! I’m sorry! I didn’t mean it! I’m sorry I must torture you!”

Lesson Learned: With Homeland, I was so excited to finish my novel and win NaNo, I didn’t have any trouble letting go of that novel’s rough draft. With Snow, just thinking about ending the story makes me hold onto my word document with a virtual death grip. My continuing ‘lesson learned’ is knowing when to end a story, even if I’m not exactly ready. 🙂

Goal for Next Week: My goal for this week is 900 words, again.

If you’d like to share your weekly wrap-up, go ahead and post it in the comments below!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

