Quote of the Week

Today’s quote of the week comes from Orson Scott Card, author of Ender’s Game.

“Everybody walks past a thousand story ideas every day. The good writers are the ones who see five or six of them. Most people don’t see any.” – Orson Scott Card

Some of my best story ideas have come from reading a news story, seeing a picture, or hearing a song. For my Snow novel, I came up with her character after reading about the name “Snow” on a baby name website. The idea for my character Finley came from a new song I was listening to, “Write Your Story” by Francesca Battistelli. I was inspired to try a dystopian story after watching a worker at my local grocery store lock up five-gallon water bottles of water. I know from my own experience that Card is right. There are tons of story ideas all around us. 🙂

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

