Monthly Link Share – How to Write a Thriller

Welcome to February’s link share! Following the John Grisham theme from Tuesday, one of these links is his writing advice, and the other is a list he found helpful. 🙂 Let’s get started!

In 1973, Writer’s Digest published an article by Brian Garfield that included 10 tips on writing suspense fiction. These are the tips John Grisham says he used to help him write The Firm. This article from Writer’s Digest lists the 10 tips from the original Garfield article. I’m sure these tips could be used for other genres as well. 🙂

http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/there-are-no-rules/the-10-commandments-of-how-to-write-a-thriller

Tony Vanderwarker had seven unpublished novels until his friend and neighbor John Grisham started to mentor him. With Mr. Grisham’s help, Mr. Vanderwarker wrote a thriller titled Sleeping Dogs. This list of “three must-haves of novel writing” are lessons learned from the great novelist.

http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/there-are-no-rules/john-grishams-3-must-haves-of-novel-writing

Last week, I posted a rant about the large number of paranormal romances in the “Y” section of my library. Another concern I have with “Y” books is whether or not they are clean. I really don’t want to pick up a book and find that there’s a graphic love scene or strong language in there. There are some “Y” books I’ve heard about that I’d like to read but I wanted to make sure they were clean before I read them. Enter thestorysanctuary.com! Thank you for writing this blog, Ms. Giard! Ms. Kasey Giard reviews young adult, children, and adult books for language, sexual content, spiritual content, violence, and drug content. Through her blog, I’ve found some really cool “Y” books that are clean and great (and vampire-free). I’m reading one now, and it’s excellent. She reviews not only popular books, like Divergent or The Fault in Our Stars, but also some lesser-known ones. I can’t thank her enough for this resource! 🙂

http://thestorysanctuary.com/

I love music. I listen to it while writing novels, drawing, and blog writing (I’m listening to my Owl City playlist while editing this post). Well, I’m always on the hunt for good music, and when I found Citizen Way, I found some great music! Citizen Way is a Christian band with two sets of brothers: Josh and Ben Calhoun and David and Ben Blascoe. In April 2013 they released their first album, Love is the Evidence. I first heard their single, “It Should Have Been Me” on Youtube and fell in song love and bought the album off of Amazon. All the songs are great and have a terrific sound! My personal favorites are “How Sweet the Sound” and “All Things.” You can find their website here: http://citizenwaymusic.com/

And you didn’t think I’d let you leave without sharing a Citizen Way song …

or two? 🙂

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Monthly Link Share – How to Write a Thriller

  1. I’m so excited that you included The Story Sanctuary in your list. I love knowing that the reviews mean something and have helped you make reading choices. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

