What Have I Done?

… and then I clicked submit. I’d done it. I’d signed up. It only took 30 seconds to completely ensure the loss of my sanity by the first week of May. Exactly why will I be insane by then? The answer to that question is the only writer’s program that practically guarantees insanity: NaNoWriMo! 🙂

It’s not even near November, but there is still a NaNo happening! Since 2011, NaNoWriMo has been hosting a twice a year version of their National Novel Writing Month, called Camp NaNoWriMo. Camp NaNo is a bit different than regular NaNo. In this NaNo spinoff, you can pick your work’s category. Anything from poetry to TV screenplay goes here, unlike November NaNo where the only category available is novel. Also, your word count is flexible, anywhere from 10,000 to 999,999 words. Another difference is the cabins. When you agree to have cabin mates, NaNo places you with eleven people, either randomly picked or chosen from specific criteria, for you to ask the advice of, chat with, and get to know. Five of those people can be friends you already know. There’s also a forum for Camp NaNo for even more writer fun. There are Camps in April and July this year.

When I originally received the announcement from YWP NaNoWriMo that Camp NaNo would be happening this year, I was thrilled! After all, this is what I have been waiting for since November. As usual, they were running two Camps, and my original plan (as well as one of my New Year’s writing resolutions) was to participate in Camp NaNo in July and then the regular NaNo in November. However, the more I thought about it, the more I wanted a new novel to work on. The problem was of course, that I’m currently working on editing my original NaNo novel. So, I plan to multitask. I’m going to continue editing Homeland through April and do NaNo as well. Hence the fact I’m doing a smaller 40,000 word goal for this NaNo. I’m saving the 50,000 word count for the one in July when I’ll have no school and more free time to write. Which raises a question: what will I be writing those 40,000 words about? Well, in the middle of writing Snow, I came up with another novel idea. I placed that idea in my idea notebook and finished Snow first. Now I’m going to go back and write it!

My novel’s title is God Save the Queen, and it will be a cross between a fantasy and a science fiction novel. When the queen dies without an heir, there’s fear that an ambitious nobleman (who needs a name) will try to usurp the throne before the true heir can be found. The loyal nobles create a plan: find a girl who looks like the queen to play the role of ruler until the real heir can be found. That girl is Lark, a commoner who bears an uncanny resemblance to the queen.

I don’t have all the details fleshed out, but I better hurry up because Camp NaNo starts in 14 days. AHHHHH!!!!! What have I done? 14 days to plan a novel and a month to write it all while continuing to edit my other NaNo novel? Yep, I’ll definitely be insane by the first week of May.

If you, too, would like to lose your sanity, you can sign up for Camp NaNo here: http://campnanowrimo.org/

Happy NaNo-ing!

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “What Have I Done?

  1. My gracious. It’s April so soon already?? This year is positively flying. Gosh.
    Also, Camp NaNo. I’ve been considering doing it. I haven’t touched my November NaNo novel since, well, November 30th and that 50,000th word. =P But I really want to finish it. Hmm. Perhaps if I set a lower word count goal for myself I will give it a whirl…maybe. I’ve only ever done NaNo in November…I dunno if I can handle the stress of doing it twice in one year o_O hehe =P Hmm. We shall see.

    • It’s only seven days until Camp NaNo now. I can safely say that I have waited for this day since November. 😉 I get my cabin mates tomorrow, and I can’t decide whether I should be excited, nervous, or slightly worried about who they are going to put me with. You should definitely do Camp NaNo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

