Trolls! – Part 1

It’s been a while since I posted my Hobbit fanfiction, The Adventure Begins. Nerissa, my OC, first joined the adventure back in Bag End when she signed the contract. Then in The Adventure Begins, she learned that adventures aren’t all fun and games and saved Kili and Fili from drowning in the river. Today, I’m picking back up where I left off and introducing Nerissa to some trolls.

For some reason Thorin had chosen an old abandoned farmhouse for our camp. I agreed with Gandalf, who had left us in a huff, that it did not feel safe. In fact the darkening night had such an ominous feel that chills were running up and down my back. I went to stand in front of the fire where tonight’s soup dinner was busily boiling, hoping the heat and smell of food would settle my nerves. As soon as I stepped up though, Bofur handed me a bowl of soup. Bilbo, standing at the fire already, received a bowl, too.

“Here, do us a favor. Take this to the lads,” Bofur said. Without a word, Bilbo started walking towards where Kili and Fili were guarding the ponies.

I hadn’t even begun to warm up yet, and, as I looked out beyond the camp, my foreboding increased. Still, Kili and Fili had to be quite hungry by now. I took my bowl and attempted to catch up to Bilbo, trying hard not to spill hot soup all down my dress. Still, a few burning drops splashed out and landed on my wrist. “Nîdh!” I cried. “That is hot!” As soon as I said the word, I bit my lip, realizing that I’d spoken Elvish.

Bilbo didn’t seem to notice. “What did you expect, running with a full bowl of hot soup?” he teased good-naturedly. “Though, my second-cousin’s wife on my father’s side works at the local inn, the Green Dragon, and she could carry five bowls of soup all at the same time and not spill a drop! Two bowls on each arm and one on her head!”

“Wow,” I said, truly impressed. “I once tried to serve drinks to some dinner guests and managed to spill one on the table and the other in the lap of our friend. My mother was not happy.”

Bilbo chuckled at my story and shook his head. “I’m guessing you won’t be taking a job at the Green Dragon then!”

We left the grassy field and entered the woods, and the night grew a bit darker as the trees blocked what little moonlight there was. We found the two Dwarven brothers standing by a fallen log. We walked up to them, and I held out my bowl. Neither dwarf twitched. I’d never seen any dwarf (much less Kili and Fili) pass up an opportunity to eat. That meant something must be very, very wrong.

“What’s the matter?” Bilbo and I asked at the same time.

Kili looked troubled. “We’re supposed to be looking after the ponies.”

“Only we’ve encountered a slight problem,” said Fili.

“We had 16,” explained Kili.

“And now’s there’s 14,” finished Fili.

My thoughts immediately flew to my own silver horse. “Gildin?” I asked Kili.

“Gildin is here,” assured Kili. “But Daisy and Bungle are missing.”

“Well, that’s not good. That is not good at all. Shouldn’t we tell Thorin?” a concerned Bilbo asked.

“Uhh, no. Let’s not worry him. As our official burglar, we thought you might like to look into it,” Fili said quickly.

“Well, uh…look, some–something big uprooted these trees,” Bilbo concluded.

“That was our thinking,” Kili commented.

“Something very big, and possibly quite dangerous,” Bilbo said.

“What could be that big and do that?” My imagination was running away with me, and I could picture a huge monster striding out of the woods and attacking us.

Before anyone could answer, Fili turned towards us and said. “Hey! There’s a light. Over here! Stay down.”

I followed the brothers ducking under one uprooted tree and crouching behind another. I could hear harsh laughter, and I shivered in response. Peering through the woods, I saw a flickering fire.

“What is it?” asked Bilbo, beating me to the question.

“Trolls,” responded Kili, as he and Fili jumped to their feet and ran towards the flames.

“Trolls?” I didn’t like the sound of that. I’d read many scary stories in my family’s library that involved trolls. The trolls always ended up eating someone. Bilbo and I looked at one another, and I knew what we were about to do. Soup in hand, we followed after the brothers.

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

