What I’ve Read This Month – The “Y”s Have It

It took a lot of digging and reading of reviews but I finally managed to get past the vampires and werewolves populating the “Y” section. It wasn’t easy because I was faced with overwhelming odds (they have quite an invasion force!), but I have found some great “Y” books. So, this month, I’m sharing this batch of amazing books that are certified vampire free from the “Y” section that I’ve enjoyed reading (with some “J”s  and regular fiction mixed in!).

The books I've read this month.

The books I’ve read this month.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I ordered this book after reading a review of it on thestorysanctuary.com. And wow, I am glad I did! It’s on my favorite books of all time list now.  It’s a long book, and I finished it in two days. Cinder is the story of a sixteen year old girl who is a mechanic and a hated cyborg. When her stepsister falls ill with the plague, her evil stepmother drafts her for plague research. There, she learns a secret about herself that could kill her. I’ve already ordered the next two books in the series from my local library. Here’s to hoping they come in quickly before I go crazy wondering what happens to Cinder! 🙂

Red by Ted Dekker

As with Green and Black, Red was fantastic. In this book, Thomas tries to rescue Monique de Raison, the woman who created the vaccine that turned into the Raison Strain, a deadly virus that has infected the earth. In his dreams, however, he’s the general of the Forest Guard trying to protect the Forests from the Horde.

The Wells Bequest by Polly Shulman

Leo is playing a video game one day when a six-inch tall version of himself and a very pretty girl riding a time machine suddenly appear in his bedroom and tell him to read H.G. Well’s novel, The Time Machine. Now that he knows there’s a real time machine, he goes on a hunt to find it and ends up in the New-York Circulating Material Repository. This was a fantastic novel! I loved the characters, especially Jaya and her sense of humor. The book was humorous and had a touch of romance that made for a great wacky time-travelling adventure. I would say this is going on the favorite books of all time list as well.

Theodore Boone: The Abduction by John Grisham

Last month, I read the first book in the series, Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer. I loved that book so much, I ordered the next three! In this story, Theo’s best friend April is abducted. Theo is determined to find her before it’s too late. Just like the first book, I loved this one. Theo was respectful and honest with his parents, and I really like that about the Theodore Boone books.

Theodore Boone: The Accused by John Grisham

Just like the other two Theo books I read, this one was another great mystery I couldn’t put down. When Theodore Boone is accused of robbing an electronics store, he can’t seem to persuade the detectives that he didn’t do it. Will he be able to clear his name in time?

The Fire of Ares, Birth of a Warrior, Legacy of Blood by Michael Ford

I first read this series when we studied ancient Greece in school a few years back. I read them again a year or two after that. Recently when I was ordering books from the library, I suddenly remembered this series and decided to reread it again. The Spartan Quest series is about a young man named Lysander. He starts life as Helot slave in ancient Sparta in The Fire of Ares and learns about his destiny as a Spartan warrior. In Birth of a Warrior, he goes through the Ordeal and fights his first battle. In Legacy of Blood, he discovers the truth about his family and earns back the Fire of Ares. The books are excellent. They are a little violent, but realistic to the time period of the Spartans. It’s such a cool way to look back in history and see what it took to be a Spartan warrior.

Black Ice by Andrew Lane

I wrote a book review on this one. If you’d like to read it, you can find it here: https://concerningwriting.wordpress.com/2014/03/18/book-review-black-ice-by-andrew-lane/

Death Cloud by Andrew Lane

This is the first book in the teen Sherlock Holmes series. This one, I thought, was even better than Black Ice. While Sherlock is staying with his aunt and uncle over the summer holiday, two men in the town drop dead with boils on their skin. When Sherlock finds a clue to their deaths, he finds himself caught up in a mystery that could cost him his life.

Matched by Ally Condie

Cassia lives in a society where everything is regulated – what you eat, where you work, even who you marry. On her seventeenth birthday, Cassia is Matched with a boy who she will one day marry, her best friend, Xander. Something is wrong, though, because when Cassia goes home, the microchip card she received that’s supposed to be about Xander shows another boy as her Match. This was an amazing book. I finished it in a day, it was so good. I loved it! I was quickly rooting for Cassia and wondering what was going to happen to Ky and Xander. I was thrilled to learn that there’s two more books in the series, and I ordered them from the library the night I finished Matched. This is definitely going on the beloved book list.

Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis

I read this book for school. It was excellent! I’ve only read The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, and while I enjoyed those, I was blown away at how good Till We Have Faces is. It is the retelling of the classic myth of Cupid and Psyche told from the perspective of Psyche’s older sister, Orual.

The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

This was another classic I read for school. This is the story of a reporter who travels with two scientists and a hunter to an unknown land in South America full of prehistoric creatures. I really enjoyed this one. I love Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes, and it was really neat to read a book by him that wasn’t about Holmes.

Have you ever read any of these books? What did you think of them? Do you have any book recommendations for me? Comment below! 🙂

~ Kayla

 

6 thoughts on “What I’ve Read This Month – The “Y”s Have It

    • My favorite part of the story was when Orual fought for Trunia’s life. I’m currently working on reading Out of The Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis. It’s hard to believe it was written by the same man who wrote Narnia! It’s completely different.

Leave a Reply

