Trolls! – Part 2

Last week, I posted the first part of my OC Hobbit fanfiction based on the troll scene from the movie. In the last part, Nerissa, Bilbo, Kili, and Fili did some detective work and discovered what had taken the ponies: trolls! Read on to find out what happens next.

We dashed after the brothers, trying not to stumble over any of the underbrush or spill any soup. The light grew brighter, and I knew we were nearing the fire. The two brothers ducked behind a tree, and as Bilbo and I reached them, I saw what they were hiding from.

Even though he was as tall as the trees, I could smell the troll better than I could see him. The stench of decay and filth wafted over me as he lumbered by, a tattered garment wrapped around him, flapping as he moved. Under his arms, the screaming, terrified ponies wriggled to free themselves, but his huge, grimy hands held them tight. I could feel poor Myrtle and Minty’s fear from where I was standing. Bilbo quickly hid behind the twisted, vine-covered trunk of a nearby tree, but I stood there for a moment, paralyzed, unsure of where to go or what to do. Suddenly, I was pulled to the ground by Kili who hissed in my ear, “Get down!” The troll continued on, not seeing us. I guessed his mind was on his pony dinner. “We can’t let them eat the ponies!” I whispered.

“He’s got Myrtle and Minty! I think they’re going to eat them. We have to do something!” Bilbo was as desperate as I was to stop the pony feast.

“Yes; you should. Mountain trolls are slow and stupid, and you’re so small.” Kili jumped up from where he had been crouching by his brother. Pushing Bilbo to the side, he snatched the soup bowl from him.

“Me–me–me. No–no–no–” stammered Bilbo, waving his finger as if to emphasize the “no.”

“They’ll never see you,” Kili encouraged. “It’s perfectly safe! We’ll be right behind you.”

Poor Bilbo. I couldn’t let him face this alone. And the ponies – I couldn’t let them be eaten.  My fear welled up inside of me, but I pushed it down. There’s nothing to be worried about. Kili and Fili are right there, defending usI can be brave and do this, I encouraged myself. “I’ll go with you, Bilbo. We’ll be all right. We’ll get the ponies back, together.” I directed the reassurance towards Bilbo, but it was really for myself. “We can do this.” I tried to keep the hesitation and fear out of my voice.

I handed my soup bowl to Fili, who gave me an encouraging pat on the shoulder. “If you run into trouble, hoot twice like a barn owl, once like a brown owl.”

Before we could think about it any further, Bilbo and I were pushed forward onto the path the troll had taken. Bilbo kept repeating Fili’s instructions to himself under his breath, and I was wondering what a barn owl sounded like, and why I would have to hoot for help. Weren’t they going with us?

“Twice like a barn owl, twice like a brown – once like a brown?” Bilbo whispered. “Are you sure this a good idea?”

He turned back to Fili and Kili, only to find them gone. We looked at each other, and suddenly realized we were on our own. I felt for one of my arrows, and, not finding any, remembered where they were.

“What’s wrong?” Bilbo whispered.

“My bow. It’s back at camp.”

We were alone, weaponless, and facing trolls that could probably eat us whole.

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

