What I’ve Been Doing Lately

I’ve seen these “Right now I’m” posts floating around on a few blogs and decided to write my own version of them! Of course, it’s all concerning writing!

Writing God Save the Queen for Camp NaNoWriMo. I think I’ve finally got a good grasp of Lark’s character.

Trying not to throw my NaNo novel out the window. I wrote a bad scene a few days ago, and it’s thrown me off a bit. Yesterday was better. Hopefully today will be good.

Reading The Important of Being Earnest for school. I’ve only read the first act so far, but it’s been really funny. Bunburying is my new favorite word! XD I’m also starting Crossed (Book 2 of the Matched series). Super excited to read it!

Listening To a lot of the Thor: The Dark World soundtrack while writing God Save the Queen. And of course, Owl City! 😀

Worrying About getting everything done. I’m having surgery on my knee this Friday, and I will be out of commission for a few days.  I’ve had to pack a bunch of blogging and writing into four days to prepare for it, leaving me a bit overwhelmed. I’ll be glad to get back to my regular schedule.

Watching the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II for God Save the Queen. Lark is going to be coronated in an upcoming scene, so I was hoping to make it as accurate as possible. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched it!

Waiting for the end of NaNo so that I can finally get all these fanfiction ideas out of my head. I always get tons of them whenever I’m working on a project, but never before. I just hope I can remember them by the end of the month!

Wishing I had a database of awesome futuristic weapon ideas. I’m still stuck on the weapons that will be used in GSTQ (God Save the Queen).

Wanting to try my hand at making a “for fun” cover for my three novels. I have ideas for Snow and GSTQ but I’m not too great at photoshop. I guess it’s time to learn.

Anxious due to surgery on Friday. It’s going to force me to miss three days of writing, so I’m a bit nervous that I’ll be thrown off track.

Enjoying the chance to talk to fellow writers in my cabin on Camp NaNoWriMo. It’s been a lot of fun!

And I threw these in even though they have nothing to do with writing:

Thrilled that I get to listen to a new Owl City track today! Totally made my day. Thank you, Adam Young! 😀

Not So Thrilled that I have to go to the orthodontist today. (Sorry to any orthodontist readers, but I really dislike your job. 🙂 )

What have you been doing lately? Feel free to share what you’ve been up to in the comments below.

~ Kayla

 

7 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Doing Lately

  1. What’s ‘God Save the Queen’ about? I find myself curious, being British and all 😛 The Queen’s coronation footage is quite something, right? Wasn’t she so pretty?! ^^ And good luck with the knee surgery! I hope you get back on your feet soon after 🙂

    Owl City’s new song is beautiful, isn’t it?

    • Here is a quick summary of my NaNo novel: when a young queen dies without an heir, there’s fear that an ambitious nobleman will try to usurp the throne before the true heir can be found. The loyal nobles create a plan: find a girl who looks like the queen to play the role of ruler until the real heir can be found. That girl is Lark, a commoner who bears an uncanny resemblance to the queen. I’ve set it in a futuristic London, and it will be part fantasy/part science fiction.

      Queen Elizabeth is beautiful, and that coronation gown is stunning. My favorite part is when they actually crown her.

      Thanks! 🙂 I’m hoping to be back on my feet in a few days.

      I love Owl City’s new song! I actually stayed up until midnight when it released so I could buy it. 🙂 I was listening to it all day. I love the mix between his old and new styles.

      • Ooo, sounds interesting indeed 🙂 I sense a lot of backstabbing in this. Would I be correct in saying that, or I am way off the mark?

        That’s good then! Is it only minor surgery? Keyhole?

        Yeah, the mix between his old and new styles gives it something really special! It’s darkly beautiful, I think. Happy, yet emotive and poignant. Haha, wow though, that is dedication 😛 I had to wait until someone put it up on YouTube until I could hear it properly, because I don’t have iTunes and it wasn’t on Amazon or anything at that point. I was most distressed by this. I was tempted to write stern words to Adam Young: ‘WHY IS IT NOT ON AMAZON, MAN?!’ – something along those lines, y’know. But it’s okay, ’cause I bought it off Amazon earlier on today 😉

        • Yep! I already have plans to turn one of the characters bad and have him betray Lark. *rubs hands and cackles evilly*

          It’s an arthroscopic surgery for meniscal tears. 🙂 And yes, thankfully, it’s minor. (Though from the name it sounds like some horrible surgery. ;))

          A few days before the song released, I was wondering if he was going to put it on Amazon at midnight (I don’t have iTunes either.). Thankfully, it was added! I was very much relieved because I wasn’t sure how I was going to get it if he didn’t add it to Amazon! 🙂

          • Haha, sounds devilishly evil 😛

            That doesn’t sound pleasant, but then, does any surgery? It all sounds horrible if you ask me!

            I checked Amazon on the day it was released… When was that, the 7th? But it wasn’t on the UK Amazon. It must have only been added on the US one! It says on the UK one that it was released on the 8th, soo… a day later. In which case, I still feel the need to write stern words to him. WHAT’S WITH THIS HATRED TOWARDS THE UK, HMM?! The US gets everything first 😦 *sniffs*

            • I think it was actually released on the 8th at midnight. 🙂

              I love the UK. I would love to live there one day. If ever I am published, I’ll try to make sure the book comes out in the UK first.

              • Oh, was it? Aha, look at me, not knowing what I’m talking about. I may have to retract all stern words to Adam Young, in this case. Ah well, the point is I heard it and legally bought it eventually, which is the main point.

                Haha, well, that is very kind of you! 😛 It always seems to be a novelty when something comes out here first, even when the artist/creator is British themselves!

                P.S. If you ever do live in the UK, I hope it treats you well 🙂

Leave a Reply

