Character Names – Kieran and Lark

Last month, I shared two names I wasn’t using for my Camp NaNoWriMo novel. I had realized I’d chosen too many names starting with “Al” or “El” and had to change some. Well, today I’m sharing two of the names I did use for Camp NaNoWriMo. Feel free to use these names, but just remember, I did have them first! 😉

Lark is a girl’s name. It is of English origin and means “songbird.” According to Google, the name also has the meaning of “something done for fun, esp. something mischievous or daring; an amusing adventure or escapade.” That second definition fits my Lark very well! She’s the main character and tends to get herself into all sorts of scrapes as she is trained to be the stand-in for the real Queen. She is quirky, slightly crazy, and tends to be a bit proud. I loved the name Lark because it is simple, yet beautiful.

Kieran is a boy’s name. It’s Irish and means “little dark one” according to nameberry.com. It’s also the name of an Irish saint known for his generosity. While the name has saintly connections, my Kieran is anything but a good guy. Kieran starts out as charming, trustworthy, and kind. He becomes good friends with Lark, and she eventually trusts him with her biggest secret: that she’s not really the queen. Unfortunately for Lark, Kieran works for the villain, and ends up betraying her.

Both of these names are very versatile, and I could see them used in all sorts of genres from fantasy to contemporary fiction.

What do you think? Would you use Kieran and Lark on your characters? Comment below! 🙂

~ Kayla

One thought on “Character Names – Kieran and Lark

  1. Shall I explain ‘lark’? ‘Songbird’ would likely be the origin for the name, as opposed to the latter of what you wrote. But the word ‘lark’ itself can indeed mean that of a bird, or, in British slang, something you do for fun. You can do something ‘FOR a lark’, for example. It can also be used in a more sarcastic sense, like an activity you think is a waste of time or that you don’t take very seriously. “He did all his writing lark last night”, would be an example of this.

    Not meaning to give you a lesson here, but I thought you might be interested to know 🙂

    Lark is definitely an interesting and unique name, though! And a very pretty origin, if you think it comes from birdsong (:

Leave a Reply

