Five Favorite Fiction Books

I have been reading ever since I was three. From picture books to chapter books to full-length novels, I’ve read a lot of books. Today, I’m sharing five of my favorite fiction books of all time. There are about, oh, a million books I feel bad about leaving out, but this is only one version of the list of my favorites. It does change from time to time. 😉

5. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

I don’t remember how old I was when I first read The Phantom Tollbooth. What I do remember is that my mom had ordered it from the library for me because she had seen it recommended somewhere. I was a little uncertain, but after reading it, I fell in love with the book. It’s been one of my favorites for years, and I imagine it will always have a place on my shelf. It’s the story of a boy named Milo who thinks life is boring. One day, he receives a purple tollbooth in his room. He has nothing better to do, so he jumps in his toy car, drives up to the tollbooth, and travels to another world. He encounters creatures like Tock the Watchdog, the Doldrums, and the Demons of Ignorance all while trying to rescue the Princesses Rhyme and Reason. The witty word play and clever puns make this book a classic.

4. Rakkety Tam by Brian Jacques

I first listened to Redwall read by Mr. Jacques himself (He’s got the most amazing accent ever. I could have listened to him talk all day long!). I fell in love with the book, and now I have quite the collection of this series on my shelf. My favorite book in the series is Rakkety Tam. It’s about a squirrel from the highlands and his friend who work together to stop a savage wolverine from taking over Redwall abbey. Brian Jacques was a big influence on me wanting to be a writer. My first story was very much inspired by him and his work. 🙂

3. The Robot Wars by Sigmund Brouwer

I found this series when the first book was offered for free on Kindle. I finished it in about a day and got the rest from the library and blew through them in a few days. The Robot Wars is a Christain scifi series that is not at all preachy (which is a pet peeve of mine) and has an excellent story. The main character is Tyce, a paralyzed boy who lives on Mars and has never visited Earth. The books chronicle the adventures Tyce and his good friend Ashley have as they try and save the colony on Mars. Sigmund Brouwer is also one of my writing influences as he was the one who inspired me to try writing sci-fi.

2. Annals of Wynnewood by Chautona Havig

I love Chautona Havig. She’s one of my top favorite authors of all time (I love her Aggie’s Inheritance series). This is her fantasy series, and wow, it’s good. It’s the story of a boy who befriends a creature in the woods. The creature turns out to be a cloaked girl named Dove who refuses to let him see her face. I read the first one when it was offered for free one day, and then bought the last two because I had to find out what happened. It was money well spent. I read for hours to find out what happened and what Dove was.

1. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I almost didn’t read The Hobbit. I think I can hear all the Tolkienites dying. 😉 I wanted to be surprised by what happened in the movies, but on a whim I decided to read the book beforehand. I am so glad I did! And yes, full confession here, I did get a little teary-eyed reading the Battle of Five Armies. Reading the book enhanced the movies for me and started me down the path of reading Tolkien. The Hobbit, in case you happen not to know, is the story of a Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins, who is convinced to go on an adventure by a wizard named Gandalf to help a company of thirteen dwarves reclaim their mountain home.

See any of your favorites on my list? What are your five favorite books? Comment below and tell me! 🙂

~ Kayla

 

 

7 thoughts on “Five Favorite Fiction Books

  1. I find it interesting that you should say reading The Hobbit beforehand now enhances the films for you. I get where you’re coming from, but, personally, I truly dislike The Hobbit movies, as much as it pains me to say. And, it is especially heartbreaking for me, given how much I adore The Lord of the Rings films. But never mind, eh!

    Anyway, that point of me commenting is: I am intrigued by The Robot Wars you mention. I’m just curious to know how it is a Christian sci-fi 🙂 Is it Christian themes, or something more? It seems to be rather common in fantasy/sci-fi novels for a very strong Christian theme to emerge within them, which is kind of the last place many people would probably assume they would be! As an author of fantasy story myself, I know this to be true for me, since my book is arguably incredibly Christian, in a very indirect and non-preachy way.

    • Sigmund Brouwer wrote these books to show that God and science are not incompatible, and that the existence of God is a question of incredible importance because it impacts how we live. Those themes run throughout the series. Also in the first book of The Robot Wars series, Tyce’s mom is a Christian and so is his friend Ashley, but Tyce isn’t. By the end of the series, Tyce has become a Christian. So, there is a strong salvation message, but the author doesn’t ram it down your throat or lose the story for the message like so many other Christian series I’ve read.

      Not to cause you more pain, but I watched the new Hobbit movie 2 times over the weekend as I was recovering from surgery. 😉

      • Ahhh wow, that sounds pretty cool! I might have to investigate these books. I’m all for something that says science and faith are compatible – it’s something that means quite a lot to me.

        Haha, well hey, if you enjoy it then that’s all that matters! 😉 I haven’t bought the 2nd DVD, purely because I don’t like it D: But you must understand, this does break my heart. I’m in two minds as to whether I should see the 3rd at the cinema or not.. :/

        How is your knee? Hope everything’s okay!

        • I’m not sure I really want to see the third movie since I’m disappointed this will (probably) be the last Middle-Earth movie. I don’t want it to end! And of course, I’m not exactly looking forward to the Battle of the Five Armies.

          My knee is doing great! I’m back on my feet, and I have physical therapy twice a week now to get my range of motion back to where it was. The doctor seems to think I’ll be back to skating in about six weeks! 🙂

          • Ahh yes, I understand the pain. It is likely to be the last Middle-Earth movie, I imagine. But I remember everyone was heartbroken by the Return of the King, since it was the end of the story! Nothing beat watching that at the cinema, blubbing with tears at the end credits (still cry, every time). I do miss the buzz those films had at the time, I really do. I’m not sure anyone really anticipated that The Hobbit was going to be made, but let’s face it, it was going to be hard to live up to the LotR legacy! But just ’cause it may be the end, that doesn’t mean you can’t pay Middle-Earth a visit every now and then 🙂

            Besides, Middle-Earth lives in your heart, and you take that wherever you go 😉

            Aw, that’s great news! 😀 So good to hear everything’s going well! Let’s hope things just keep getting better and better 🙂 I’m still waiting for physiotherapy for my knee -_- That’s the NHS for you! 😉

            • The ending of Return of the King always gets me, too. Just listening to the end of the soundtrack is heartbreaking. It sounds so sad and final. I plan to pay Middle-Earth quite a few visits. 😉 I can’t wait to watch all six movies in sequence. It would have to be an all week-end marathon! 😀

              I hope you’re able to get in soon for your knee!

              • Oh yeah, that soundtrack is so powerful! Love that end song of Annie Lennox’s. Ha, it really would have to be an all-weekender! Especially watching the extended editions.

                Thank you! Hopefully I’ll get there soon.

Leave a Reply

