Monthly Link Share – How to Find Your Characters

Welcome to April’s link share! I don’t really have a theme for this link share, other than these are some pages that I’ve found helpful this month. So let’s get started!

The first link is actually a Pinterest board I follow from Melanie Wozniak. She has a Character Inspiration board where she pins pictures of people to inspire new characters. I’ve always wanted to find pictures of my characters, but wasn’t sure how to begin and slightly concerned of what the results would be in a search like that. Through her board, I’ve been able to put faces to many of my characters. I’ve found having a picture helps me visualize them in a scene better and have a better grasp of their character.

The next article is not so much about writing as it is about blogging. You may notice that I don’t post a lot of images on my blog, and that’s because I’m never sure about the copyright laws. Can I post that picture I found from Google or that gif from Pinterest? Well, this article from Go Teen Writers helped clear up some of my confusion, so I thought I’d share it with my fellow bloggers!

http://goteenwriters.blogspot.com/2014/04/images-animated-gifs-and-copyright-law.html

This is a post I found about what to do if you end up hating your novel half-way through. I’ve been struggling with going from loving to hating my Camp NaNo novel, and I found this article to be really helpful and encouraging.

http://storyfix.com/what-to-do-if-you-hate-your-novel-a-guest-post

One of the hobbies I enjoy (other than writing!) is painting my nails. It works out great, because I’ve learned I can type while my nails are drying. Makes for some great multitasking! 😉 Anyway, I follow several nail blogs and Oooh, Shinies is my favorite! She’s got some great tutorials on stamping, gradients, and more. Also, she loves cats and provides a foster home for some adorable kittens which she is gracious enough to post pictures of on occasion! So, if you’re looking for a great nail blog to follow, check her out! 🙂

http://www.ooohshinies.com/

Thanks for reading (or should I say clicking? 😄 )

~ Kayla

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

