What I’ve Read This Month + Book Giveaway

Every month, I read at least four books and share them on my blog. This month, I’ve actually surpassed my goal and read nine books! Plus, I have a giveaway for any interested readers. Information about that is at the end of the post!

The books I read this month

The books I read this month

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

This is the second book in The Lunar Chronicles series. In this story, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing, and she will do anything to find her again. Together with a mysterious boy named Wolf, she tries to find her grandmother. Meanwhile, Cinder (from the first novel) has escaped from prison and is on the run, trying to avoid the Queen of Luna. I loved Cinder, the first book in the series, but I didn’t enjoy Scarlet nearly as much. I couldn’t decide if I liked Scarlet and Wolf. Many times I just found them annoying. I really disliked another character named Thorne. However, I did think the idea behind the book and the way the author adapted the Red Riding Hood story to fit the dystopian world she created was brilliant. I just wasn’t crazy about the execution of that idea.

Theodore Boone: The Activist by John Grisham

In this latest installment of the Theodore Boone series, Theodore is accused of theft and vandalism. He also becomes involved in fighting against a new law being passed that will wipe out one of his friend’s family’s home. I really enjoyed this Theo book, and I’m hoping that Mr. Grisham will write another shortly!

Rebel Fire (AKA Red Leech) by Andrew Lane

In the second book of the Young Sherlock Holmes series, Sherlock travels to America to help Amyus Crowe track down the killer of Abraham Lincoln. I was really looking forward to this book as it’s set in the USA, and I was curious to see how Mr. Lane, a British writer, wrote about America. I thought he did a good job! Mr. Lane also has a knack for creating villians that make you want to go, “EWW!!!” and this latest one was no exception to the rule. *shivers*

Fire Storm by Andrew Lane

This is the fourth and latest book of the Young Sherlock Holmes series, and it ended on a cliffhanger. I cannot wait to find out what happens! Sherlock’s tutor Amyus Crowe and Crowe’s daughter Virginia disappear, and Sherlock goes after them. It turns out, Crowe is on the run, hiding from a bloodthirsty villain. There’s a little bit of romance in this latest book, but I did enjoy it as I like both characters involved, and I kind of figured it was coming for a while now.

Crossed by Ally Condie

This is the second book in the Matched triology and another second book I wasn’t so crazy about. In this book, Cassia is dermined to find Ky again. When she’s sent to the outer provinces, she runs with another girl named Indie in order to find Ky and hopefully join the Rising, the rebellion against the Society. In the first book, I really enjoyed reading about the Society and their way of life (probably because I’m a dystopian writer myself) almost more than the characters’ stories. With less of the Society in this book, I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much. I also didn’t like how the point of view was switched back and forth from Ky to Cassia all through the book.

Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis

While on a walking holiday, Dr. Elwin Ransom is kidnapped by two men, Weston and Dick Devine. He is taken to a space ship and flown to the planet of “Malacandra.” There, Dr. Ransom guesses he is some sort of sacrifice and runs for it, meeting the creatures that live on that planet. I really enjoyed this book. C.S. Lewis is a good writer in any genre!

Cyrano De Bergerac by Edmond Rostand

The play is the story of a French hero who is witty and charming, with one flaw: his enormous nose. He has fallen in love with his cousin, Roxane, but she is in love with the handsome cadet Christian de Neuvillette. The only problem is that Christian lacks the wit to woo Roxane, so Cyrano comes up with the plan to combine their strengths to create one perfect hero, one with Cyrano’s wit and Christian’s good looks. I read this play for school and really enjoyed it! It was a classic tale of love and honor. I also watched a movie version of it and did a review which you can find here: https://concerningwriting.wordpress.com/2014/04/22/book-to-movie-cyrano-de-bergerac/

The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

This was another school reading assignment. The Importance of Being Earnest is the story of a man name Jack Worthing. Jack claims to have an unprincipled younger brother named Ernest who lives in town. Because of his unprincipled and immoral ways, Jack must visit his brother all the time to try and straighten out the messes he creates. However, when Jack is in town, he actually becomes Ernest Worthing, so that he can do what he wants to do and no one will know about it in the country. The play gets more complicated than this with romantic entanglements and long lost relatives, turning it into a crazy and laugh-out-loud Victorian comedy! This was definitely one of my favorite classics that I read this year.

Worldliness: Resisting the Seduction of a Fallen World edited by C. J. Mahaney

We read this book out loud as a family in the evenings. The book is about living in the world as Christians, but not becoming worldly, and staying Christ-centered. And this is where the giveaway comes in. Worldiness is the book I’m giving away. This is an pretty informal giveaway, as I’m not sure if this is the type of book any of my readers enjoy. If you’d like the book and are in the U.S. (sorry to my non-U.S. friends), comment below and tell me that you would. If I end up having more than one comment, I’ll use a random number generator and choose a winner that way. If you are the winner, I’ll shoot you an email to let you know and mail it out to you. The winner will be announced on the blog on Friday. All right, if you’d like the book (I’d recommend it!), comment below!

The giveaway book

Worldliness – The book I’m giving away

Have you read any of these books? If so, which ones? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below. And don’t forget to comment for the giveaway.

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Read This Month + Book Giveaway

  1. I’m reading “Cinder” right now. Loving it so far and can’t wait to read “Scarlett” and “Cress”. I read “The Importance of Being Earnest” by Oscar Wilde while on collage and I adored it.

    Are you gonna read “Cress” even though you didn’t like so much “Scarlett”?

    • I’m glad you’re enjoying Cinder! I was pretty much tied to that book for three days, it was so good. 🙂

      Yes, I’m planning on reading “Cress.” Even thought I didn’t like “Scarlet” so much, I’d still like to see what will happen with Cinder and the rest of the company. I believe Cress is based on the story of Rapunzel.

Leave a Reply

