Quote of the Week

Welcome to this week’s quote! It comes from Jeanne Cavelos, the author of The Science of Star Wars. Even though this quote is directed towards horror writers, I think it applies to any genre. I know I’ve gathered a lot of inspiration for characters and plots from books I’ve read. My inspiration behind God Save the Queen, my NaNo novelcame from a scene in a book I read a few months ago, called The Glorious Adventures of the Sunshine Queen. In the book, the one girl pretends to be the Queen of England to trick the sheriff into freeing her friend. If I’d never read the book, I would never have been inspired to write a book about a girl pretending to be Queen.

To be a creative, innovative horror writer, you must read a lot of everything, and a lot of that everything must be horror. You may be thinking, ‘How can I be creative and original with all those other authors’ ideas floating around in my head?’ But this is critical: The sheer amount of material floating around in your head will prevent you from copying any one author. Instead you will find a tiny piece of character from this book, a tiny piece of plot from that book, a certain stylistic technique from that other, which you will combine into something totally new. It is the writer who reads only Stephen King who will turn out stories that sound like Stephen King – on a very, very bad day.” – Jeanne Cavelos

 

Leave a Reply

