Trolls! – Part 7

Last week, I left Nerissa (my Hobbit OC) in a bag on the ground, trying to get free, and Bilbo had just convinced the trolls to skin their prisoners first before eating them. How will the dwarves and she ever get out of this mess? Well, read on to find out in the final part of my OC Hobbit fanfiction, Trolls!

We were done for. Bert the troll seemed pretty taken with Bilbo’s idea of skinning the dwarves. “Tom, get me the filleting knife,” Bert said, looking pleased.

The idea of skinning the dwarves made me want to get sick again, but I resisted the urge and instead focused on wriggling my hand up through the hole at the top of the sack. Almost got it free, I thought. I froze in place when I saw Bert’s eyes on me. If I moved now, he’d catch me.

“What a load of rubbish! I’ve eaten plenty with their skins on. Scuff them, I say, boots and all,” Tom the troll protested.

“e’s right! Nothing wrong with a bit of raw dwarf! Nice and crunchy!” Bill ran over to where we were laying, and his huge hand swept right in front of my face. I was shaking with terror, sure I would be the one he’d pick to eat. His hand lingered for a second near my feet, but then the huge hand moved, and instead grabbed Bombur’s legs and hauled him up off the ground. All the trolls’ attention was suddenly on the fat dwarf held by his feet over the gaping mouth of the troll.

Shaking but more motivated than ever, I slipped my hand out of the bag and frantically bit, tugged, ripped, pulled, and picked at the knot that kept the bag tight. I had almost worked it loose when Bilbo shouted, “Not—not that one, he—he’s infected!”

With that shout, the troll’s attention was turned back towards the group, and I was forced to stop working.

“Yeah, he’s got worms in his…tubes,” Bilbo explained to Tom. “In—in fact they all have, they’re in—infested with parasites. It’s a terrible business; I wouldn’t risk it, I really wouldn’t.”

Repulsed by this information, the troll flung Bombur back into the pile of dwarves. Bombur was saved for the moment, but the dwarves were outraged and began shouting angrily.

“Parasites, did he say parasites?” cried Oin.

“We don’t have parasites! You have parasites!” Kili shouted angrily.

I was suddenly jostled as Thorin kicked the dwarves into silence. He didn’t say anything only glared at them. Understanding dawned on the dwarves, and they all began to agree with Bilbo. “Mine are the biggest parasites, I’ve got huge parasites!” Kili yelled at the trolls, along with the rest of the dwarves as they all proclaimed their infectious conditions at the top of their lungs.

While the others were shouting, Thorin leaned back to me. “Are you free?”

“Almost,” I whispered.

“Go along with Bilbo’s plan. When you’re free, grab our weapons,” he instructed.

I gave him a nod so that he knew I understood.

“What would you have us do, then, let ‘em all go?” asked Tom.

“Well…” began Bilbo.

“You think I don’t know what you’re up to? This little ferret is taking us for fools!” Tom knocked Bilbo with the back of his hand.

“Ferret?” Bilbo asked offended.

“Fools?” Tom spat back.

The trolls’ attention was suddenly diverted to a shadowy figure on top of a rock. I didn’t care who it was, only used the opportunity to yank the knot free, scramble out of the bag, and make a mad dash and slide for the weapons before the trolls saw I was loose. As my hands grasped the hilt of a sword, I heard a loud, commanding voice shout, “The dawn will take you all!”

I looked up, and there was Gandalf. He lifted his arms high above his head, and brought the end of his staff smashing down against the rock. It split in two, and the first rays of golden sunlight, filled the valley. The trolls shrieked and pulled away as the sunlight hit their eyes, and turned their brown skin into cold grey stone. Their screams were suddenly gone, and the trolls were frozen in place. Realizing that the danger had passed, we let out a cheer. We were saved!

Thanks for reading all seven parts! 🙂

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

