Weekly Writing Wrap-Up: May 2 – 8

Welcome to my Weekly Writing Wrap-Up for this week!

Total Word Count for the Week: 4059

Top Writing Day: My top writing day was Wednesday with 1252 words.

What I Worked On: I worked on editing Snow, writing Storm, and some fanfiction.

The Good News: I have edited Chapter 1 of Snow and am halfway through Chapter 2!

The Bad News: I didn’t make my goal every day this week.

Lesson Learned: Last week or so, there was a Go Teen Writer article about using action tags and emotion beats in your story instead of he/she said or asked or whispered. (You can find the article here: http://goteenwriters.blogspot.com/2014/04/emotion-beats-in-your-dialogue.html) I’ve heard of action tags, but never emotion beats. Now that I’ve learned about them, I’ve been adding more action tags and emotion beats to Snow. I definitely think it’s improved my writing, and it makes the story’s dialogue less repetitive!

Goal for Next Week: My goal for next week is 600 words a day.

If you’d like to share your weekly wrap-up, go ahead and post it in the comments below!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

