Weekly Writing Wrap-Up: May 9 – 15

Welcome to my Weekly Writing Wrap-Up for this week!

Total Word Count for the Week: 3691

Top Writing Day: My top writing day was Monday with 1600 words.

What I Worked On: I worked on editing Snow, writing Storm, and some fanfiction.

The Good News: I have edited Chapter 2 of Snow, and I’ve started Chapter 3!

The Bad News: I didn’t make my goal for writing every day this week. However, I did make my goal for editing. 🙂

Lesson Learned: I rewrote my first scene this week. While I’ve been working on editing Snow for about three weeks now and been cutting down and changing sentences here and there, I haven’t needed to completely change anything. Because of this, I’ve been able to move at a pretty good pace. This week, though, I decided that the scene where Finley comes and takes Snow needed to be more dramatic, and he needed to be more of a threat. In other words, the scene needed a complete rewrite. It’s been a slow process, going back and changing what Finley does over and over until Finley is just right. The most frustrating part of the rewrite was that I just wanted to move on from that scene. I wanted to stop rereading it again…and again…and again. My lesson learned is that not everything is going to move at a”quick” pace, and that this is going to take a while, even if I want to finish my book now! 🙂

Goal for Next Week: My goal for next week is 600 words a day.

If you’d like to share your weekly wrap-up, go ahead and post it in the comments below!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

