What I’ve Read This Month

The books I've read this month

The books I’ve read this month

Today I’m posting what I’ve read this month! My goal was four books, and I ended up reading nine.

The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen

In the kingdom of Carthya, a nobleman named Conner is rounding up orphan boys, one of whom is Sage, a rebellious and proud fourteen-year-old. Conner plans to train them to impersonate the missing prince of Carthya, allowing Conner to steal the throne. The boys who don’t make the cut will be killed. It was a great story, and it has a huge surprise twist at the end. Sage was an entertaining main character. I can’t wait to read the next two books in the trilogy!

Reached by Ally Condie

The Rising is staging a rebellion against the Society by releasing a plague that only they have the cure for. When the plague mutates, everyone starts working together in order to find a cure. I enjoyed Reached a whole lot more than Crossed. The story was much more exciting, and I enjoyed the twists and turns in each part. However, I still didn’t like how the author kept switching back and forth between viewpoints. Despite that complaint, Reached was a great conclusion to the trilogy.

The Pig Scrolls by Gryllus the Pig (Translated by Paul Shipton)

This very strange, wacky, laugh-out-loud book is the story of a talking pig. Now he really isn’t a pig, but a human crewmember of Odysseus’s ship who was transformed into a pig. As a pig, he is found by a girl named Sibyl who claims that only he can save the world. I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did. I chose it because I thought it looked interesting, and it turned out to be both interesting and hysterically funny. Gryllus makes a great pig hero, and it’s an all-around great story. Mr. Shipton uses the Greek gods and goddesses as characters. I thought that would bother me, but he turned them into some of the funniest characters in the book. This book made me curious to check out some of Mr. Shipton’s other novels!

The Different Girl by Gordon Dahlquist

On an island live four identical girls who are being taught by their caretakers, Robbert and Irene. Then, a new girl named May arrives. She’s nothing like them, and her presence on the island makes the girls start to question the lives they’ve always lead. I read it all in one afternoon, but don’t let that fool you. It was AWFUL. The only reason I kept reading was because I was sure there was going to be a huge twist at the end, and suddenly the story would be great and wonderful, and I’d finally know what the four girls were. There was never any explanation, and it never got better. The characters were horrible. May was annoying, and I couldn’t keep the four girls straight. Robbert and Irene were boring characters. Mr. Dahlquist’s writing was very strange and hard to read as well.

Cress by Marissa Meyer

Stuck in a satellite high above the earth, Cress is forced to hack into earth’s computers for her Lunar captor. Meanwhile, Cinder and her friends are trying to escape and crash the royal wedding in order to save Emperor Kai. Cress was better than Scarlet, but still not as good as Cinder. As a character, I really liked Cress. She was sweet and had an interesting story. I couldn’t stand Thorne, Cress’s love interest and rescuer. I did like that there was less Scarlet and Wolf, my two least favorite characters, from the second book Scarlet. All in all, I enjoyed Cress, but it still didn’t match up to the legacy left by Cinder.

Surviving Antarctica Reality TV 2083 by Andrea White

Five fourteen-year-olds are chosen to be on a TV show called Historic Survivor Antarctica where they follow the path of the famous explorer Robert Scott and try to survive. I enjoyed the book. The concept was interesting, and the futuristic world and environment were very believable. I wasn’t a big fan of the writing style, as I thought she wrote this “Y” book in a way that seemed rather young. (The content wasn’t at all young, but the way she wrote it was. Does that make sense?) The kids were a bit hard to tell apart, and I honestly didn’t love any of them. All the characters had boring, everyday names, which contrasted oddly with the futuristic feel of the novel. I did enjoy the reference to The Fellowship of the Ring. 🙂

I, Robot by Isaac Asimov

I mentioned in my author profile about Isaac Asimov (which you can find here) that I’d randomly picked this classic off the shelf to give it a try. I was expecting to find it hard to read, hard to finish, and slow paced. It was just the opposite. I loved I, Robot. It’s a collection of short stories set in a universe where robots are bound by the Three Laws of Robotics. My favorite stories were “Robbie” and “Liar!”

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

This is the classic novel of Pip’s life, taking him from a young orphan boy living with his sister and her husband to a young man with “great expectations.” I read this book for school, and I really enjoyed it. I was surprised how easy it was to read, and how much I ended up caring about Pip. My favorite characters were Wemmick and the “Aged P.”

The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau

I wrote a review on this book which you can find here.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? Do you have any recommendations for me? If so, post them down in the comments!

~ Kayla

6 thoughts on “What I’ve Read This Month

  1. Great Expectations is one of my all-time favorites! I read City of Ember all in one snap and use portions of it when I teach reading. It’s a fabulous book…with an unfortunate movie adaptation.

Leave a Reply

