Sunshine Award

Two weeks ago, I announced that over the next month I’d be accepting the awards that some of my followers have kindly given me! Today, I’m accepting another award. This time it is the Sunshine Award from Jennifer K. Marsh. I’d like to start off by saying thank you for the award! I really appreciate it.

The rules are:

1) Display the award graphic in the post.
2) Link to whoever nominated you.
3) List ten facts about yourself.
4) Nominate ten fellow bloggers “who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogsphere.”
5) Leave a comment on the nominees’ blogs to tell them of the award.

 

sunshine-award

Here are ten facts about myself:

1. When I was younger, I was terrified of escalators. I wouldn’t get on them, and if I had to, I’d burst out into tears. While my fear of them has lessened, escalators still aren’t my favorite things, and I will avoid them if I can. I also get motion sick on them, which doesn’t make me love them any more.

2. I hate peanut butter. I used to love it as a kid, but one day I just stopped liking it and haven’t liked it since.

3. I do not own a cell phone. I do have an android mp3 player I can text with.

4. I am introverted, and would much prefer to stay in my house with my music and writing than go out into the world.

5. My biggest book pet peeve is when a book is perfectly clean and what I would consider readable except for “that one scene.”

6. I recently checked out the The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe soundtrack, and I love it! My favorite track is “Lucy Meets Mr. Tumnus.”

7. We are planning on moving later this summer, and this will be the first time I’ve ever moved.

8. My favorite style to draw in is anime/manga.

9. I am out of school for the summer as of two weeks ago! 🙂

10. I prefer vanilla cake and ice cream to chocolate.

Now, my nominees. Yep, I’m aware there are only four. Please, don’t arrest me for breaking the rules! 🙂

The Randomness of a Teenage Writer

Like Star Filled Skies

Riot of Prose

Character Names Galore

Thanks for reading, and thanks again to Jennifer K. Marsh  for the nomination!

~ Kayla

7 thoughts on “Sunshine Award

  1. Could you possibly explain number 5 a bit more to me? ^^ Do you mean that it annoys you when a ‘clean’ book has one ‘un-clean’ moment, and therefore that basically ruins it for you? I know that’s pretty much what you said, but I’m just clarifying it in my head… aha

      • Ahh, well that’s fair enough! I’m like that myself to be honest, unless it really, really fits with the story.. Then I can kinda turn a blind eye. I hate it when unclean moments seem to be in the story just for the sack of being in the story… y’know?
        Out of interest, what do you consider ‘too’ unclean?(for a lack of a better way of putting it)

        • For me, it’s romance and language that really rule out a book. If there’s more than just a kiss, then I don’t read it. With language, a book with anything worse than a few ‘not too bad’ cuss words is ruled out.

          • I hear you. Though, as a writer, I personally feel it would be wrong of me not to include perhaps slightly inappropriate moments if it works and fits with the story. I am very much one for letting the characters dictate what happens, and just because I am strongly Christian, that does not go to say all my characters are – or should be – as well. I think it would be wrong of me to enforce such a thing if it does not work for that character/story. That’s just what it is being a writer. It should all be in moderation. Of course, that doesn’t mean I’d turn around and write some foul-mouthed, sex orientated book/story, because I just could not do that, but the occasional swearword and slightly more intimate moment can be overlooked by myself. If it WORKS, if it’s RIGHT, as I’ve said.
            In my book, Times of Old, one human character uses the f-word once (and there are a few other not-so-bad swearwords dotted about), but I am determined to say that it is right for that character and that, overall, it is certainly not an inappropriate story. He simply had to swear at that moment, because he is only human, we all do wrong, and he completely loses his temper when he says the f-word, and he only loses his temper because he is sticking up for someone. Just anger, I suppose. It is not in this particular character to curse and be vile, and so I think that one, bad swearword can be an acceptable exception. I would never dream of incorporating swearwords etc into a story just for the sake of it. But I can completely understand and appreciate what you say 🙂

            I just wrote an essay there… Sorry. I was just trying to fully explain myself, I suppose, but do not think that I’m sitting here encouraging and supporting swearwords and such, because I’m not. At all. I hope you can understand where I’m coming from in this matter! It hurts me to allow a character to say something like, “For God’s sake!”, but I only do it because, as I’ve said many times now, it is just right for them. Sad as that may be. Sometimes with writing, you’ve got to let yourself dip a toe in the inappropriate waters, as opposed to standing totally dry on the moral pontoon. I mean, of course you don’t HAVE to. I’m merely saying that just because someone may write a character that does something they don’t agree with, that doesn’t make them any less religious or true to themselves… 🙂 At least I don’t think so.

            • I completely understand where you’re coming from. It’s hard to find the balance of presenting realistic characters and yet keep the story clean. I personally choose to stay way far back from “the edge” so to speak and keep my writing completely clean. No swear words, no sex scenes. I also think that audience is important. While I personally wouldn’t put swear words in any novel, I think the author is a little freer when it’s an adult novel, while with YA books there should be nothing like that. I understand that’s it’s a difficult issue, and every author has to decide for themselves. It’s not easy deciding where to draw the line.

              • Yeah, you’re exactly right, and really, it just depends on what the author is comfortable with! I’ve never once claimed my story to be YA, so I guess I’m safe from stigma in that respect because of swearwords, but I have had 13 year olds read it. I agree, though, that books aimed at a younger audience really should be clean. It is a difficult line, and I think it’s a wise move of yours to stay well away from ‘the edge’, personally! I just feel that, for me, I have to dance pretty close to it. It’s just the way I am creatively.

Leave a Reply

