What I’ve Read This Month – My New Favorite Author

The month of June began as a slow reading month. For the first couple weeks, I only managed to read one or two books. Then I had a rash of books that didn’t grab me and keep my attention. I was afraid I wouldn’t make my reading goal. Enter The Maze Runner by James Dashnermy new favorite author. The Maze Runner was so good that I finished it in a day, and it made me want to read, read, and read some more! I went on to read another one of his novels that was just as good. I ended up reading a total of eight books this month, and today I’m sharing what I thought of them!

The books I've read this month

The books I’ve read this month

Legend by Marie Lu

I read a review of this book from http://thestorysanctuary.com/, decided to give it a try, but never ordered it from the library for some reason. When I went book hunting last, I found this book on the shelf, remembered the title, and took it home. I’m glad I did because it was a really good book. It had a bit of romance in it which I didn’t mind since I thought it was so sweetly done. It’s the story of a boy named Day, the Republic’s most wanted criminal, who lives on the street, trying to survive and help his family. June is a prodigy agent who is fiercely loyal to the Republic, and her dream is to arrest Day. When June’s brother is murdered, it’s believed that Day killed him. June goes on a whirlwind hunt to try and track Day down. In the end, both of them learn secrets that they never expected to uncover.

The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone by Tony Abbott

Right before his Uncle Henry’s suspicious death, Wade Kaplan receives a coded email from him. Along with his stepbrother, Darrell, their cousin Lily, Lily’s friend, Becca, and Wade and Darrell’s dad, Dr. Kaplin, Wade heads to Germany to figure out what happened to Uncle Henry. What they don’t realize is that they are stepping into a historical mystery involving relics that a secret order will kill them for. Both the characters and the mystery were believable (well, as believable as historical codes and mysteries and secret family graves can get), and I loved all the main characters. It was an enjoyable read, and I can’t wait to find out what happens in the next book.

Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson

This is the classic adventure tale of David Balfour who was kidnapped and sent to the Carolinas by his evil uncle. When the ship wrecks, David and his new friend Alan Breck race across Scotland to avoid soldiers and return to David’s home so he can claim his inheritance. I really liked this exciting novel. We listened to the audiobook version of it, and the narrator was Scottish. His accent made the book even more enjoyable and authentic!

Saving Thanehaven by Catherine Jinks

Noble and his sword Smite are trying to rescue a princess when a boy named Rufus comes along. Rufus tells Noble that he can think for himself and that Noble is actually something called a computer program. When Noble takes Rufus’s advice and starts thinking for himself, his computerized world starts crashing down around him. I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was brilliant how the author created a personified world in the computer. The quirky team of characters was fun and the ending was really, really good. It was not what I expected at all!

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I put this book on hold at my library back in April. I was number 55 in line. Two months later, I finally got to go and pick the book up. I read it all in one afternoon, and during that time I laughed, I cried, and I cheered. Wow. So good. The Maze Runner is the story of a boy named Thomas who opens his eyes one day to find himself in a lift. He remembers nothing except his name. When he reaches the top, a bunch of teenagers welcome him to the Glade. Thomas learns that this “safe-haven” is surrounded by a maze with no exit. Once Thomas arrives, things begin changing, and soon it’s a race to save the “Gladers.”

The Eye of Minds by James Dashner

I picked this book up last time I went book hunting, recognizing the name from The Maze Runner (which I hadn’t read yet). After finishing and loving The Maze Runner, I was eager to try another Dashner book. Wow. It was amazing. I was hooked from the first page, and I finished it all in one day. I couldn’t stop reading! I loved the characters and the huge twist at the end. Michael is a gamer who loves spending time in the VirtNet, a total mind and body emersion into the game world. One day, VirtNet security tells him there’s a dangerous hacker on the loose, and it’s up to Michael and his friends to stop him.

The Pig Who Saved the World by Paul Shipton

A few months ago, I read The Pig Scrolls by Paul Shipton and loved it. This is the hilarious sequel in which Gryllus the Pig and his friends must save the Cosmos once again, this time from King Sisyphus. The sequel was just as good as the first one. I loved Orpheus, the talking head. The only thing I didn’t like was the fact that this is the last Gryllus the Pig book. I’m going to miss reading about the ancient world’s one and only Cosmos-saving talking pig!

The People of Sparks by Jeanne DuPrau

In the second Book of Ember, over 400 of the “Emberites” have escaped their dying city and are now on the surface. Along with Lina and Doon, they travel three days and find themselves in the small village of Sparks whose inhabitants have agreed to help the Emberites. Soon, the people of Sparks are running out of food because of the extra four hundred mouths to feed. It’s up to Lina and Doon to avoid an all-out battle. I enjoyed the book quite a bit, finishing it in a day. I didn’t like it as much as the first, but still, it was good story and a good sequel. I can’t wait to find out what will happen in book 3!

Have you read any of these books? If so, what did you think of them? Do you have any recommendations for me?

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

