What I’ve Been Doing Lately

I cannot believe it is July 1st! June flew by. I’ve been busy with so much lately. There’s so many good books to read, and with NaNoWriMo here, I now have a bunch of additional writing to do! With all these exciting things happening, I decided to do another one of my “What I’ve Been Doing Lately” posts to share with my readers exactly that – what I’ve been doing!

Starting Camp NaNoWriMo. My novel is called Fences, and I’m excited to start on it!

Tried the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, and I loved the first book.

Reading Tandem by Anna Jarzab and The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Nielsen. I’m not sure what to think of Tandem yet, but The Runaway King has been good.

Wondering what my soundtrack will be for Fences. I think I’m going to start out with How To Train Your Dragon 2 for the novel, but I haven’t decided yet.

Happy that I ended up in a great cabin for Camp NaNoWriMo. I have a lot in common with most of the cabin mates, so we’ve been having a great time!

Listening to my male main character’s theme song, “Up All Night” by Owl City. It fits him perfectly!

Worrying about outlining. I didn’t outline for my NaNo novel, and I’m wondering if I should have.

Thrilled that I have two new books to read from my new favorite author, James Dashner.

Waiting for the next Percy Jackson book to come in at the library. I want to know what’s going to happen next!

Wishing that I didn’t have to wait for forever for the next book in The Maze Runner series.

Wanting to branch out and switch between view points in Fences. I can’t decide if that’s a good idea or not.

Anxious about writing 50,000 words. I’ve done two NaNos, but never with 50,000 words. I’m nervous!

Enjoying the chance to jump back into a novel again. I haven’t been working on a serious project since last NaNo.

Going to a teen writing workshop this evening.

And I threw these in even though they have nothing to do with writing:

Watching Doctor Who for the first time. I’ve been enjoying it and all the British accents!

Taking a theater class for a week. I’m having a great time!

Overjoyed to be back on the ice again after my knee surgery.

Thanking you for reading this post! 🙂

~ Kayla

5 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Doing Lately

      • 🙂

        Have a good time with all your doing! Sounds like you’ve got a great time ahead of you (:

        I love Ultraviolet more than anything he’s ever done. Ever. I mean, yeah, his old stuff was wonderful in the daydream lands, but I am especially drawn to things that take the creative angle of light in the darkness. Ultraviolet is so darkly beautiful and hopeful. And I can’t even buy it. I don’t have iTunes, and it’s not on Amazon UK……. Is he trying to ruin my life? *cries in a corner*

        • *hands you a tissue box* That is awful! Maybe it’ll be added later. I, as an American, disapprove of this discrimination towards the UK! 😉 We’ll have to have a talk with Mr. Young.

          • *blows into tissue* It is a tragedy, yes. It had better be added later! I mean, SERIOUSLY ADAM. I’m trying to support you and you don’t add it to Amazon UK? SORT IT OUT MAN. I have a good mind to write him disgruntled letters.

Leave a Reply

