Five Least Favorite Classic Novels

From Shakespeare to Twain to Defoe, I’ve enjoyed a lot of classic novels from a lot of different authors. I loved reading The Merchant of Venice, The Prince and the Pauper, Robinson Crusoe, and many other great classics. Alas, not every classic novel can be that enjoyable. Today I’m sharing some classics that I downright disliked and never, ever want to read again.

5. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

I didn’t fully dislike this novel. In fact, there were some parts I really did enjoy. However, the novel seemed to drag on and on. Parts like the scenery, the story about the cabin and the people Frankenstein’s monster met, and the letters from the captain to his sister in the beginning bogged down the actual plot of the book, making it hard for me to enjoy the story.

4. Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

I’m not sure how this ever became a children’s classic because this is one of the most disturbing books I’ve ever read. I could deal with the talking White Rabbit, the Unbirthday celebration, and even the Cheshire Cat. However, I found the potions and cakes that sometimes shrunk Alice or made her nine feet tall, the baby who turned into a pig, and the playing card soldiers just a little too strange for my taste.

3. Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift

Gulliver’s Travels is a book I read last year for school and, boy, was I glad when it was finished! I really disliked Gulliver. At one point, I was actually hoping he might get squished. Because the book was supposed to be a travelogue, the descriptions of the people Gulliver met and the lands he visited were incredibly detailed and long. Also, there was a ton of bathroom humor/references in the novel, and that just made the book even worse.

2. 1984 by George Orwell

I love the dystopian genre, so I was excited to read the most famous and classic of all dystopian novels. What a disappointment! I found it boring. I couldn’t get interested in the long descriptions of the world in which Winston lived. I also didn’t care about Winston. Not a bit. It went from boring to unreadable when Winston got involved with Julia. I eventually just put the book down. It’s strange because I really enjoyed reading Animal Farm and some of Orwell’s essays, but I couldn’t get through 1984.

1. Moby Dick by Herman Melville

This title strikes fear into my heart. I tried to love the book, and then I tried to like the book, and then I just tried to get through it. I failed. I was bored stiff from the insane amount of detail about the story of Nantucket, whale hunting, and even an entire sermon on Jonah. I later learned that when the novel was first published, no one liked it. I agree with the original readers and place it at the top of my dislike list.

Have you read any of these novels on my list, and if so, what did you think of them? What are your least favorite classic novels?

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

4 thoughts on “Five Least Favorite Classic Novels

  1. Oh, classic novels. It can often be a love-hate relationship.

    Need I bring up Pride and Prejudice again? 😉 That book though. It needs to burn.

Leave a Reply

