What I’ve Read This Month – Percy, Percy, and Even More Percy

If you want to know what I read this month, I’ve got two words for you. Percy Jackson. I started reading the Percy Jackson series this month, and I have absolutely loved it. In fact, five of the seven books I read were from the first Percy Jackson series. So, be prepared for lots and lots of Percy Jackson! 🙂

Some of the books I've read this month. I had to return two of the books to the library since others wanted to read them. :)

Some of the books I’ve read this month. I had to return two of the books to the library since others wanted to read them. 🙂

 

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

One day Percy is attacked by a creature straight out Greek mythology. The only place Percy is safe is a summer camp called Camp Half-Blood where he finds out who he truly is. There he goes on a quest to recover Zeus’s master bolt. After hearing about these books again and again, I finally decided to give them a try. It’s safe to say I’m a fan now!

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Camp Half-Blood is being overrun by monsters because the tree that protects the camp is poisoned. When Percy returns to camp, he has a nightmare about his best friend Grover who is being held by a Cyclops. When Annabeth, Percy’s other good friend, hears about Percy’s nightmares, she realizes the key to saving Camp Half-Blood is to rescue Grover and find the Golden Fleece. Just like the first book, the second Percy Jackson book was terrific!

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

Grover needs Percy’s help again when he discovers two new half-bloods at a school. It’s there that Percy and his friends learn that Kronos, enemy of the gods, has set up a trap for them. I’ve been enjoying the series a ton, and each book is as good as the last.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

Camp Half-Blood is in trouble. The Titan army is planning an invasion through Daedalus’s labyrinth. The camp’s only hope is to convince Daedalus not to give the Titan army the string that will lead them through the maze. Another great Percy Jackson book!

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson leads Camp Half-Blood in a last ditch effort to save the camp and Olympus itself. This was probably my favorite book in the series. It was absolutely amazing, and I was cheering Percy on at the end. A great conclusion to a great series.

The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Nielsen

After Jaron takes the throne, there is an assassination attempt on his life. He soon realizes that the only way to save his kingdom is to leave it. He tracks down his enemy, the pirates, in order to stop a war from coming to his land. I read the first book in the series, The False Prince, and I liked it. I didn’t like this one as much. It took me a while to get through the book. I didn’t really love Jaron, and I found the book really hard to get into.

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

Robinson Crusoe is the story of a man marooned on a deserted island for many years. The book tells how he survived on the island and learned how to provide for himself. I was surprised about how much I enjoyed the novel. The descriptions and such could get a little long, but mostly it was an entertaining novel to listen to.

Have you read any of these books? If so, did you enjoy them? Do you have any recommendations for me? Comment below and let me know!

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

