Scribbler Award

Today I’m accepting an award from Bessie Lark! Bessie Lark and I share a love of all things Lord of the Rings/The Hobbit and writing fanfiction, and she’s commented on my blog many times. Thanks to Bessie Lark for nominating me. 🙂

scribbler

The rules of this award are simple. I’m supposed to link to my favorite writing blog and/or share a writing tip. Then I’m supposed to pass the award on to no more than five people.

My favorite writing blog is easy. It’s Go Teen Writers! It offers writing advice for teen authors such as how to get published and what to focus on now in your teens to be a better author. The two ladies that run it also take the time to answer questions and offer personal advice to commenters. It’s not just for teen authors, though. Their writing instruction is beneficial to authors of all ages. A good example is one of their more recent posts (which I linked to in my Monthly Link Share) about writing dialects.

Now, for my writing tip:

When you are writing, don’t edit, just write. This is what I learned from my first year of NaNoWriMo, and it helped me to finish my first novel.  I used to start a story and then get discouraged by how bad my grammar was or how many plot holes had emerged in my story and then give up. By focusing on just writing the story, I am now able to finish and then worry about fixing the problems later.

Now I’m supposed to pass this award on to other writers. Here are my nominees! 🙂

Jennifer K. Marsh

Like Star Filled Skies

Thanks for reading, and thanks again to Bessie Lark for nominating me!

~ Kayla

 

 

6 thoughts on “Scribbler Award

  1. Oh this is neat! I haven’t heard of this award! Go Teen Writers is my favorite writing blog as well and great writing tip. I have found that for myself not editing as I write is actually much harder than it sounds….Great post!

  2. Thank you for the nomination, Kayla! And congratulations for it! It’s well deserved – I think you’re a great writer ^^

Leave a Reply

