Character Names – Jago and Arlina

I’m torn. My NaNoWriMo novel will be set in a dystopian version of Scotland where I’ve always wanted to set a novel. Now that I’ve chosen the setting, I have to decide on character names! And that is where I’m stuck. Part of me wants to go with more traditional Gaelic names since it is set in Scotland. The other part of me is leaning towards more futuristic sounding names since the novel is dystopian. What in the world do I do? I’ve been searching for names this week, and so far I’ve collected a list of possibilities. I decided to share two of these names from my list today. Feel free to use them in your novel, but I’m not promising they won’t one day be found in mine! 🙂

Jago is a Cornish boy’s name typically used as a surname. It’s pronounced “Jay-go” and comes from the Cornish versions of the names Jacob or James. It’s not as popular over here as it is in the UK currently. Jago is a super cool name, but I thought it sounded a little too evil for the male main character’s personality. However, I’m still considering it for one of my villains! 🙂

Arlina is a mysterious name. Some say it’s a Gaelic girl’s name which means “an oath.” Others say it’s a modern variant on the name “Arlene.”  Whatever the case, it’s not a popular name. I found this name on a Gaelic baby name site and really liked it, then I realized I already have two characters with similar names that start with “Ar.” I already mix their names up in my writing, and I thought one more “Ar” name would be even more confusing so I’m not using it at this point.

What do you think of these names? Would you use them for your characters? What naming direction should I go in? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Character Names – Jago and Arlina

Leave a Reply

