Monthly Link Share – Inspiration Emergency

Welcome to October’s monthly link share! As I’m sure most of my readers know, next month is November a.k.a. NaNoWriMo month! *throws confetti* Of course, with NaNo right around the corner, I’ve been doing a ton of research trying to prepare for my novel. Today I’m sharing some of the links I dug up that have helped me.

I was going through some old NaNoWriMo blog posts and found this one from earlier this month. I almost went with a steampunk fairy tale idea for my NaNo novel, but changed it back to my current one. I thought this blog post would come in handy whenever I decide to tackle that steampunk idea!

http://blog.nanowrimo.org/post/98894282106/in-case-of-inspiration-emergency-re-imagine-a-familiar

As I mentioned in my character name post, I’ve been stuck between Gaelic names and more modern names for my characters. Thanks to this great list of Gaelic guy’s names from namenerds.com, I’ve decided on Taran for the guy. 😀

http://www.namenerds.com/scottish/gaelicguy.html

One of the hardest parts of writing a fantasy/sci-fi story for me is creating town names. Thanks to town and city name generators, I’ve been able to finally find some great names! This is one of my favorites as you can choose which country you want your names to be from, adding a touch of realism to the story.

http://www.mithrilandmages.com/utilities/CityNames.php

As I’ve been editing Snow, I’ve been doing a lot of research into Arctic life. There’s a small town in the very upper north of Alaska called Barrow. I’ve loosely based Northolt, Snow’s hometown, off of Barrow. One of the things that has helped me in writing a more realistic town is seeing the weather forecast for Barrow. I’ve been having a lot of fun looking at it, and it’s helped me have a better sense of just how brutal the Arctic is. I thought I’d share the tip and the link to the forecast. 🙂

http://www.weather.com/weather/today/USAK0025:1

Thanks for reading and clicking!

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Monthly Link Share – Inspiration Emergency

Leave a Reply

