Weekly Writing Wrap-Up: October 17 – 23

Welcome to my Weekly Writing Wrap-Up for this week.

Total Word Count for the Week: 4,288

Top Writing Day: My top writing day was Friday with 2,451 words.

What I Worked On: I worked on editing Snow, writing my novel idea, and fanfiction.

The Good News: I made my goal and exceeded it by 1,288 words!

The Bad News: I still can’t decide on my name for my female MC in my NaNo novel.

Lesson Learned: Even though I’m a Pantser (meaning I don’t plan out my novels), I like to have my first line already in my head for NaNoWriMo. I’m trying to create the perfect opening, and I found this article from Go Teen Writers about dos and don’ts for creating good first novel lines. I tend to dump a bunch of information on the reader in the first lines, so this was a good reminder NOT to do that. Check out the article here: http://goteenwriters.blogspot.com/2014/10/intriguing-story-openings.html.

Goal for Next Week: My goal is to choose my character names, think up my first line, and write 3,000 words this week.

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Wrap-Up: October 17 – 23

Leave a Reply

