At NaNoWriMo’s Gate

As Aragorn and the armies of Middle-earth stood facing the evil hordes of Sauron at the Black Gate so we writers stand before the greatest writing challenge of all time. In 32 hours, the battle known as NaNoWriMo will begin. Some of you have been ready to join the fight since December 1st of last year. Others may be standing on the sidelines of the battle not realizing what is about to begin.

In case you’ve never heard about NaNoWriMo, let me explain. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month which is the slightly insane challenge of writing one 50,000 word novel in one month. Sound crazy? It is! But, it is also lots of fun. You get to connect with other writers in the NaNoWriMo forums and in your local area, enjoy the feeling of making so much progress in so short a time, and of course, write! It’s a great tool for letting your creative juices flow and finally silencing those excuses that keep writers from finishing their drafts. Last year, I completed my first novel thanks to NaNoWriMo, and every NaNo I’ve done since has helped me to grow and improve as a writer.

So what will I be writing about in November? My novel is titled The Future Teller. It’s a dystopian about a girl named Neve who was infected with a virus which gave her the power to see into the future. I’ve had this idea floating around in my head for a few months now and thought NaNo was the perfect time to write about it.

I know NaNoWriMo can sound daunting. I’m nervous, too! That is why, I’ve brought Aragorn in for a little pep talk.

“Hold your ground! Hold your ground! Fellow Wrimoers of Gondor, of Rohan, my brothers! I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me.  A day may come when the courage of writers fails, when we forsake our WIPs and abandon our characters to their fates, but it is not this day.  An hour of doubts and of procrastination, when the age of writing comes crashing down, but it is not this day! This day we write! By all that you hold dear in your draft, I bid you stand, Wrimoers!”

So what are you waiting for? Head on over to http://nanowrimo.org/ and sign up!

Are you joining NaNoWriMo this year? If so, what is your novel about? Comment below and let me know!

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

