What I’ve Read This Month

This month can be summed up in two words: epic fail. No matter what I read, I just couldn’t seem to find a book I liked and could finish. So, October was a rough reading month with only 2 1/2 books read, which means I didn’t make my goal. 😦  However, I’m looking on the bright side because even though I didn’t read a lot, I’m still reading.

Code Talker by Joseph Bruchac

Code Talker by Joseph Bruchac

Code Talker by Joseph Bruchac

This is the fictionalized account of a Navajo code talker durning World War II. Even though the main character, Ned Begay, was fictional, the book was written like a biography and included lots of interesting historical details. I really enjoyed this book. I learned a ton, and Ned’s story was sad and heroic all at the same time.

Percy Jackson's Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

After being asked by a publisher in New York, Percy Jackson, modern-day demigod, decides to share the stories of the Greek gods. It’s Greek mythology, Percy Jackson style. I’ve never been a big mythology person and always found the stories rather boring. Now, I’m honestly not sure how anyone wouldn’t love reading Greek myths. Percy’s snarky sense of humor makes the stories enjoyable as well as making what I remember as being boring stories much more entertaining. It’s an awesome resource for learning about Greek myths in an enjoyable way.

The Little Golden Book version of Frozen

The Little Golden Book version of Frozen

Frozen by Victoria Saxon

Yes, I’m in high school. Yes, I love Frozen. I actually checked this book out for the illustrations because they’re so amazing. I did end up reading it through a few times, and just like the movie, it’s adorable. Since it was a slow reading month, I decided it needed to be included, but only counted it as 1/2 book. (I never said how long the book had to be when I set my goal. 😉 )

Have you read any of these books? If so, what did you think of them? Do you have any recommendations for me? Comment below and let me know! 🙂

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

