Character Names – Neve and Taran

The search is over! *celebrates* I’ve finally chosen my NaNoWriMo characters’ names. It was a close call this year because I settled on my female MC’s name two days before NaNo started! Today, I’m sharing these two names. Feel free to use these names, but remember, they were mine first. 😉

Neve is a girl’s name and is pronounced either “Neev” or “Nehv.” I prefer “Nehv” for my character. It is derived from the Gaelic name “Niamh” meaning “bright.” Many baby name sites also give the meaning of Neve as being “snow.” Most people have heard of it because of the Canadian actress Neve Campbell. I first found Neve late one night hunting on nameberry.com one last time. I’d been trying to decide on the perfect name for my character, going back and forth between two different names, but I wasn’t completely happy with either of them. So, I decided to look one last time. That’s when I found Neve. As soon as I saw it, I knew that was her name. My Neve is quiet, shy, and reserved. She tries to hide and keep her distance from everyone so that no one will find out she has been infected by the virus.

Taran is a Gaelic boy’s name. It means “thunder.” It is occasionally seen as a girl’s name, but I’m choosing to use it as a guy’s name.  One famous Taran is a character from Lloyd Alexander’s The Chronicles of Prydain. My Taran isn’t famous yet. 😉 He’s a sweet, friendly guy who wants to be friends with Neve, but she keeps pushing him away, fearing that he will discover her secret.

What do you think of these names? Would you use them for a character? Let me know in the comments below!

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Character Names – Neve and Taran

Leave a Reply

