What I’ve Read This Month – May the Odds Be Ever In Your Favor

From the title, I’m sure it probably isn’t too hard to guess what I was reading this month! 😉 I recently saw the first two Hunger Games movies and absolutely loved them. Of course, that meant I had to read the books. Including the three Hunger Games books, I read a total of six books this month, so I was two above my goal of four books a month.

The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

In a dystopian future, North America has turned into Panem, a rigidly controlled country with twelve districts and one Capitol. Every year, two tributes from every district, a teenaged boy and girl, are chosen to participate in the Hunger Games, a televised battle to the death. Katniss Everdeen, a girl from District 12, volunteers for her little sister, Prim, when Prim is chosen as Tribute, placing Katniss in mortal danger. I read it (actually listened to the audiobook) in one day as I couldn’t put it down. Even though I had seen the movie and knew what was going to happen, I was on the edge of my seat the entire time!

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Katniss finds herself in the middle of an uprising. The districts have had enough of the Capitol’s control, and the spirit of rebellion is spreading throughout Panem. The Capitol has its own plan to stop the rebellion, and it places Katniss and Peeta’s lives on the line again. This was my favorite book of the series. The political schemes to take down the Capitol were intriguing and meeting the other Tributes who had won was really neat, too.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

The districts are in full-out war against the Capitol. Katniss and her family are refugees, fighting for their lives as they try to survive the rebellion. This had to the be one of the most heartbreaking and emotional books I’ve ever read. Katniss and the rest of the cast of characters were starting to crack from everything that had happened to them. It was awful seeing the characters I’d learned to love so broken and miserable. I was in tears by the end of the book.

Assumptions That Affect Our Lives by Christian Overman

Behind our opinions and culture, there are basic presuppositions that we take for granted. In this book, Mr. Overman explores these assumptions and explains where they came from. I read this book for school as it went along with the philosophy curriculum that we’re using.

The Odyssey by Homer  

The classic epic of Odysseus, hero of the Trojan war, as he attempts to return home for ten long years. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Homer’s works. It was entertaining and easy to read for something that was written thousands of years ago!

Troilus and Cressida by William Shakespeare

It’s the tragic love story between a Trojan prince and a traitor’s daughter set in the midst of the Trojan war. This isn’t one of Shakespeare’s most famous or best plays, but it was still pretty enjoyable.

Have you read any of these books? If so, what did you think of them? Do you have any recommendations for me? Leave me a comment and let me know!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

