Monthly Link Share – Cliches and Chapter Breaks

Welcome to January’s Monthly Link Share. Today I’m going to be sharing links that have helped me this past month. 🙂

From when to use clichés to how to turn them on their head, this article is really interesting and helpful in dealing with clichés in your writing.

https://lisavoisin.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/fiction-friday-ya-authors-speak-out-about-cliches/

Since I never divide my rough draft into chapters, a question I have to answer when I go back and edit is where to put the chapter breaks. This article gives some great advice as to where those breaks should be!

http://www.writersdigest.com/writing-articles/by-writing-goal/complete-first-draft/3-ways-to-know-when-to-end-your-chapters?et_mid=466821&rid=2960426

This article gives 25 tips that are relatively quick and easy to help improve your writing. Number 15 has some great ideas that I’d like to try next time I’m stuck.

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/25-ways-to-improve-your-writing-in-30-minutes-a-day

I love movie soundtracks, and one day, when I was looking a song from Pirates of the Caribbean, I came across Taylor Davis’s cover of it. It turns out she is a violinist who does covers of movie, TV, and video game soundtracks, and I recognized a lot of my favorite songs from the Legend of Zelda, Doctor Who, The Hobbit, and the Hunger Games. If you haven’t seen any of her videos, check her out! 😀

Thanks for reading and clicking! 😉

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Monthly Link Share – Cliches and Chapter Breaks

Leave a Reply

