The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies Quick Review

Disclaimer: If you haven’t seen the movie yet, don’t read beyond this point! There are spoilers below.

I went to see The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies today. Most of my readers know I’m a huge fan of Tolkien, and I finally had a chance to see the newest Hobbit movie. I really enjoyed it. Even with the major deviations from the book, I still really liked the movie. And I had pretty high expectations for the movie since I loved the first two, and I was pleasantly surprised. It was sad, though. I cried on and off from Dwalin’s argument with Thorin to the end of the movie. All my favorite characters always die! :,(

Things I liked:

1. Legolas riding on the legs of that bat creature – come on, that was awesome!

2. Thranduil was extra awesome in this movie. And so was his elk/reindeer/moose thing.

3. Bilbo’s line about stealing the keys from Thranduil’s guard was very funny.

4. The Strider scene! I fangirled so hard at the mention of his name. It was a clever connection.

5. “The Last Goodbye” song. I sobbed when that started playing.

6. Smaug’s lines to Bain and Bard in Laketown were chilling.

7. Thorin going mad was so well acted by Richard Armitage. I loved his character development, and I loved seeing the gold covered hall.

8. Thorin’s ending line was straight from the book. Kudos to Peter Jackson for leaving that in!

9. Three words for those who have read the book: Lobelia Sackville-Baggins. I’m so glad she got to have an appearance.

10. Galadriel fighting at Dol Guldur. She looked really cool. Don’t mess with Galadriel!

11. That ending with Bilbo and Gandalf. It was perfect.

Things I did not like:

1. Kili’s death. I still cried my heart out when I saw him die, but I HATED how he died with Tauriel.

2. The whole Kili/Tauriel romance was so unnecessary and unbelievable.

3. Fili deserved a better death scene. In fact he deserved more lines and screen time, too.

4. The deaths of Kili, Fili, and Thorin were expected, but disappointing. They should have died in battle next to one another like in the book instead of apart.

5. The amount of Alfred in the movie. Seriously, there seemed like there was a ton of him!

So, what did you like about the movie? What didn’t you like? Comment below and let me know!

~ Kayla

One thought on “The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies Quick Review

  1. Ugh, yes, the amount of Alfrid was on the verge of being sickening. But I loved the film, and I don’t get people who don’t like it just because it’s not like the book. LotR is wayyy different than the book, and hardly anybody complains.

Leave a Reply

