Character Personality Types

On NaNoWriMo’s website, there’s an off-topic thread just for Christian Teens to post on. Even though NaNo has been over for 2 months, I still post on the thread regularly, and I’ve become close friends with the other teens there. 🙂 One day, we were talking about our different personality types, and we discovered that out of the 15 or so people who post regularly, only 2 people are extroverted. The rest of us are all introverted, including myself. We also compared our Myers-Briggs personality types, and my type is ISFP, which is the creative/artistic personality type. For those who may not have heard of the Myers-Briggs test, it’s a personality test that assigns people different letters for different personality traits. For example, I am a ISFP, which means I am introverted (I) instead of extroverted (E), sensing (S) rather than intuitive (N), feeling (F) rather than thinking (T), and finally, perceiving (P) rather than judging (J). This link explains it really well.

After the conversation on the thread, I was curious about my characters. What were their personalities? It also made me wonder about us as writers. Do we tend to create one personality type more than another? Do we create personalities based on who we are or who we want to be? So, I decided to take each of my main characters through the Myers-Briggs personality test. I was also curious to see, as an ISFP, if I wrote one type over another. I used this test for my characters as it was simpler and quicker than the more in-depth one I took for myself. Also, the little labels by each of the types came from this website.

Snow from Snow – ISFP (The Composer)

Finley from Snow – ESTJ (The Supervisor)

Bravery from Fences – ESFP (The Performer)

Daxton or Dax from Fences – INTJ (The Mastermind)

Neve from The Future Teller – ISTJ (The Inspector)

Taran from The Future Teller – ESFP (The Performer)

Mishael or Misha from my current WIP – ESTP (The Dynamo)

Tay from my current WIP – ISFJ (The Protector)

Nerissa from my Hobbit fanfictions – ISFP (The Composer)

The test really helped me to learn a ton about my characters. The character who surprised me the most was Snow. I guessed she was introverted, but I would have never guessed she was the same personality as me. The description of Finley’s personality as “The Supervisor” made me laugh, as that is exactly what he is! He’s Snow’s trainer, and his job is to supervise her. Tay’s description is also dead on, as she is overprotective of her little brother.

The type I write most often is a tie between ISFP, which is my personality type, and ESFP, which is the extroverted version of my type. Most of my female characters are introverted (with the exception of Bravery), and my guy characters are extroverted (with the exception of Daxton).

Have you ever done this for your characters? If so, what was their personality type? What is yours? Comment below and let me know!

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

